You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's talk about culture #1 - Ubuntu

in #politics7 years ago

To be honest I only used Windows and Ubuntu so far. I also heard about many other linux systems being free, irritated me a little. And yes Ubuntu is very easy to understand only thing is that it has the "close window" x-button on the wrong side ;).

Thanks for the clarificaton, buddy! I thought there must be more to the OS. Ubuntu itself means much more than I managed to tell, but I only know about the movement since very recently.

Sort:  

Thanks for your answer! All linux-kernel-based OS on GPL are open source - which is not the same as "free" in this context. But nearly all of them are free also. There are a lot of very nice and useful alternatives to Ubuntu out there, but I better do not start some Linux-Flame-War here ... I am an absolute computer idiot, but I have been using Linux distributions for 10 years now without any problems. I couldn't live without it! But if you are happy with Windows - why not? Never change a running system - wasn't it like that?

well, to be honest the last good Windows was Win98...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45