You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We need an uprising in Europe

in #politics7 years ago

My memory of those historical events betrays me. I tried to google quick. Cicero at least justified the plot against Caesar. But, didn't Cicero stay loyal to the Republican form of government after all? Hmm...

Sort:  

I was merely referring to the fact that Cicero was a key traitor who claimed to love Caesar, then took his chance with the knife in his back when it came.

I'm not sure if it's historically accurate, but I believe in the phenomenal TV BBC series Rome, Marc-Antony later had Cicero's hands nailed to the door of the Forum.

Yeah, probably should have known that.. but probably from his perspective he was being loyal to the republic by killing Caesar.

Oh yeah, traitors have a 100% spotless record of never thinking they are traitors.

He was really loyal to the aristocracy, not the people, incidentally. "The Republic" is a pleasantly, and usefully, vague term.

PS - Actually do not have a strong opinion on Cicero and my history on him is a bit rusty. Apply salt liberally.

Could be. I'm not really disagreeing with you, but I'll play a little devil's advocate here and say that the term Republic was not vague. Before Caesar there was the Republic, after the civil war he was made dictator in perpetuum, so Cicero was basically a reactionary calling for a return to the old form of government, where I guess the senate had more power. Can't really say about Cicero, though, or Caesar. I guess they were all morally dubious by my standards (murder, subjugation of other peoples etc.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61