You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Decentralized Revolution: A Last Chance for Europe?

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Pretty good piece!
I don't share your negative opinion on Europe's current state of affairs. I'm European (Dutch) and I feel optimistic about Europe's future, once we hammer out the parts that do not work. I don't expect to get there overnight but I think the general direction is good, and Europe is slowly starting to get it's act together. I might add I am kind of pro-EU in general.

But I do agree that there are BIG chances for Europe's nations, or any other for that matter, to jump on blockchain technology and become important in that sector. I don't think this intrinsically decentralized technology will allow itself to become centralized in one country though. Like you noted, a fair deal of blockchains originated in Europe but it seems just as many come out of Asia and the USA. South America and Africa once again seem to miss out? Generally though, I think the nature of decentralization is that it's borderless and nationless. It's one more step to becoming a global community rather than a regional one. Maybe we can bypass political unions altogether if we all 'migrate' to the same nation: the internet.

Personally, if I were running the government, I would be pouring money into funding blockchain related startups like no tomorrow. For every ten failures there will be one that exceeds all expectations and covers every cost.

P.s. You have way too few followers for content this good! I'll follow you and resteem you to my followers to help you out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68316.98
ETH 3856.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65