You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Politics Become Personal, Everyone Loses

in #politics5 years ago

I had the same problem here, and also with a family member. I did not agree with the hatefulness and self-righteousness of her stance - my issue with her transcended politics - and she blocked me on FB.
I am struck by two statements in your post. The first is Good politicians know that taking politics personal is never good.. If this is so, there are very few good politicians in the US, the actions of both houses of our legislature have devolved into bad performance art.
The second is adapting is a better solution than waiting for political change. This notion concerns me. We in the US have adapted to the point that we no longer pay attention to any information that conflicts with the most prevalent (and manufactured) narrative.
But I hear you! Until and unless we start discussing issues rationally instead of trying to ram them down throats, by law if we have to, we the people will be on the losing end of any battle.

Sort:  

you'll notice when a politician manages to remember that politics are not personal, they can reach across party lines and work collaboratively. That is when the work for the people gets done. It's why some of Canada's landmark programs have arrived during minority governments. The government of the day had to work well with others to stay in power.

The adapting I referred to wasn't in reference to political propaganda. My sister's family are personally impacted by the economic conditions that she blames on the current government. The blame is not well placed but nonetheless, regardless of how the conditions came about, she needs to adapt. Putting her energy into bullying her family and others over politics is not solving her personal economic needs.

We don't have many politicians like that in the US, and as a result nothing good ever gets done. Tulsi Gabbard, whom I support wholeheartedly for President, is the only Democrat that I know of, and Rand Paul and Justin Amash the only Repubs. It's a terrible time to be an American. So much hatefulness! Everyone is hated by some group or other, we are at each others throats.
And how easy it is to blame the current administration for current problems, problems that have been in the making for a century or more. I would like to see a major political shake up in the US.
I'm sorry your sister is having such a difficult time both adapting and knowing that you are not her enemy. I've lost some really close friends because I don't spout the same political slogans they do. I try to understand both "sides" and to remind folks that everyone wants the same things: health, freedom, love and happiness. Those things just look different to different people. Crazy times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80