Will Steemit Help Shift the Political Overton Window?

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

Hillary is doomed

Ignore this image, I made this one for lulz, but instead take a gander at the image below:

Centipedes

This is a quick check of the current subscriber count on reddit for the two largest subreddits for Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. With over 200,000 subscribers /r/the_donald is in behemoth territory. Now overall Reddit is a bit of a liberal melting pot but Trump seems to be garnering a lot more supporters on reddit than Clinton is in her own subreddit. Granted the democrats have other subs, but all of them are dwarfed by the power of the centipedes.

Okay I get it, this isn't reddit, it's steemit and I'm a HUGE fan. But I also don't have to tell you that reddit and steemit have some serious similarities, and reddit is currently the 9th most visited website in the USA and 26th globally. And we all know this is the start of an epic exodus.

Anyways on to my point.

Overton Window

On reddit major subs were often controlled and censored by liberal zealots offended by even the slightest hint of a differing viewpoint. Most subs are lauded over by moderators who ban over the smallest infraction and stifle viewpoints and criticism for often suspicious reasons. I'm looking at you /r/politics and /r/news. It's why I stopped contributing to reddit after almost ten straight years of daily usage.

Is anyone else relieved that this isn't going to happen anymore? I am literally beside myself wondering what lulz this amazing blockchain platform will bring us all.

POPCORN!

There I said it, and it’s honestly how I feel about it. All the butthurt on the left these days, so salty! I sincerely hope this is a permanent shift of the Overton Window; a permanent shattering of the ever-leftward political ratchet and virulent censorship. Now that hippie Leftism is the establishment, and has been for a decade or more, the right is the new counterculture.

Love live steemit! Centipedes come forth!!

Centipedes Come Forth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66360.61
ETH 3420.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63