You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Illegal Immigration, Prejudice and Racism

in #politics5 years ago
  • Maybe I should have said my conscious prejudices. If I knew about my subconscious prejudices I would have thrown them in, but then they wouldn't be subconscious would they.
  • If I run a small business with 10-15 employees, I have enough work for those employees. There is a finite amount of work available in my business. If I hire an extra one, either I cut the hours of all of them or I pay them to sit around when there is nothing to be done. While I now have more capacity (supply), I don't have work to fill that capacity (demand). Theories often work great on paper and fail in reality.

    Arguments against the lump of labor fallacy focus on legal immigration, which I am not against. They point out the potential of immigrants to start new businesses, employing workers and expanding the economy. I agree with this. Where I disagree is in the area of low skilled employment. The vast majority of illegal immigrants are not going to start businesses and expand the economy, just become part of it. The assumption that jobs are infinite in number makes it impossible to "expand the economy". How do you expand something that is already infinite?

    While there is the potential for an economy to expand to provide jobs for more people, at any one moment in time there is a finite amount of constructive work available in a given economy. For the last 40-50 years, economists have endeavored to protect us from inflation by limiting economic growth to a around 3%. The ongoing influx of illegals has allowed this economic growth by limiting the reward to workers (wage increases).
  • There is no such thing as an "undocumented citizen", if they are undocumented they are not a citizen. Undocumented aliens should be paid the same wage as American workers, and employers that hire undocumented aliens (especially for lower wages) should be prosecuted aggressively. These employers are breaking laws by employing illegals and by paying one group of workers less than another group.
  • I would not doubt the aggregate number of empty houses would provide housing for all of the homeless. It comes down to a matter of location and financial ability to move into the house. The house available may be in a different part of the country than the homeless person wishing to live in it. Housing prices are a complex issue with several different drivers, one of which is the number of people wanting to get into the housing.

Thank you for the time you took reading and responding to my opinions. These may be points that we simply have to agree to disagree on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62017.93
ETH 2409.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65