Toxic Political self righteousness is destroying this country

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

   I have to admit that the main motivation driving this blog entry comes from an unpleasant place in my head, and It's not unreasonable for me to feel anger when I'm witnessing this toxicity spread like wildfire.

antifa-1569038_1280.jpg

I want however my message to be one that evokes self reflection and much needed soul searching in the name of peace and civility.

   I strongly believe Its important for us to take a step back and attempt to strip ourselves from Tribal dogmas, from the political right, the alt-right, alt-the left, the liberals vs conservatives. Let's delete those labels for just a minute from our minds, and instead look at the bigger picture. Let's zoom out and sincerely try to find commonalities hidden within our obvious differences and find some balance within this chaos.

Lets get off the high horse



high-horse-7.jpg-7.jpg

   I would like to be clear that I'm not saying because I think we should not speak our mind, I am a firm believer of free speech, but because we are simply throwing out insults disguised as comical memes, sarcastic cartoons wrapped up into a chaotic gift of “fear mongering” or the worse kind of pandering.

We should be asking ourselves...

What are we doing? What are we accomplishing, if anything at all? What is my contribution to this world?

Do we need to talk about the difficult issues, all the giant challenges ahead and proposed Policies you disagree with? Of course we do... and that is not in question here, but how could we do so if we are all swimming in a pool of confusion and anger.


conflict-405744_640.jpg

So if you are contributing to the problem, even with one little red cup of hate… stop… and stop right now…

We all need to get off the toxic self righteous rhetoric that is bringing us down where everyone who disagrees with us is simply ignorant, stupid, racist, a bigot, libtard or whatever insult you fancy.

How do we move forward, how can you get involved?

Sharpen up your knowledge and learn both arguments… yes, even the ones that piss you off, the ones you completely disagree witth.

Why?

Because in order for you to have a healthy debate with somebody one thing is absolutely required, you need to be talking about the same thing. Most of the time we are not doing so… not really… somebody says he/she is distrusting of the police, somebody else hears…

"I am a criminal who doesn’t want to get caught. " How is that the same thing?

Somebody else says, I’am done with the Democrats… we need to drain the swamp… and somebody else hears… "Make america white again" How is that the same thing?

    I am not implying I have all the answers or that there is even one guy or gal out there that does, but this Tribalistic rivalry of us vs them will eventually yield its results.

train-wreck-67775_1280.jpg

And the outcome is something none of us would like to see.

I apologize for my rant today and thank you ahead of time for reading this far.

Musically yours

MenO

All images : Pixabay

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48