You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More Jobs! Yeah - Right

in #politics8 years ago

No worries my man.
And here's the thing. I agree with your points and I'm 100% for technology and 100% for replacing jobs with technology.
Give me the excavator anytime so I can go elsewhere and do something worthwhile.

The issue as I see it is that we are not prepared for a transition to a society where there is a lot less labour required to produce what we need.
We (the average Joe's and Josephines) are telling our politicians that we want jobs because to us jobs means income. Politicians are promising us jobs because they want votes.

The fact is, that what we really want is the ability to keep a roof over our heads and do the best we can for our kids but we live in a society where to do this you must have a job (I'm generalising)- and I think we both agree that digging holes with our bare hands is not a
solution.
Being able to buy a brand new Tesla for $5000 doesn't matter to an unemployed man trying to raise a family if he is struggling to get $500 to pay his rent or mortgage and put food on the table.

Sort:  

Yes, I see. You're absolutely right.
Transitions like this aren't easy in the best of cases. It worries me that government, in trying to produce these jobs, will tinker with the economy and do more harm than good. It is easy for them to produce sudden economic growths through bubbles that will eventually burst. Some argue that the immediateness intrinsic of democracy (which revolves around re-elections) makes this system particularly vulnerable to this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54