I know...enough is enough...but...

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Ok, so I just watched Al Franken's full resignation speech. I stand by my previous post, but now I feel like I have been punched in the gut. I think Al Franken had to resign, but not because it was the right or just thing...the jury is very out on that...he had to resign because the #MeToo movement is indiscriminate, and if one accepts that it is necessary to ensure that women be heard, one must accept the collateral damage in the short term. I hope those few Senators that chose to push this to the hilt in this case believe that it was a just and righteous outcome...I'm not convinced.

Sort:  

"if one accepts that it is necessary to ensure that women be heard, one must accept the collateral damage", interesting point

Not one that I am particularly pleased about making. My gut just tells me they took things too far and have set the stage for unscrupulous partisans to essentially bring down any Democrat with few well coordinated fabricated stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49