Sort:  

Good guess. Some people don't notice.

I used to study and speak French but I am rusty from lack of use. Learning that to an advanced level in a barely-native setting was significantly easier than learning Korean to an intermediate level in an immersed setting. People from NE Asia have it just as difficult the other way around. Fortunately the Korean alphabet is awesome compared to most.

But I always appreciate it when people don't pick that up and compliment my ability to read and write 🤗

honestly? People really said that to you? 😄

They say leaving was my choice and I forfeit my rights. Sometimes they will try to guilt trip me to return. That makes citizenship sound like a cult and rights sound like membership privilages. Or they view it as collateral damage.

The only way politicians can convince peolple that rights are not important is by deception, ignorance and fear mongering.

Most people dislike citizens of convenience using Canada to evade military duties or as a plan B in case of whatever. The situation doesn't affect them and they don't realize the situation affects people like me.

I don't tend to run around with a victim card on my sleeve screaming social justice or whatever.

The number 1 question I get from pretty much everyone is why did you leave Canada? It's incomprehensible to most Koreans and Canadians.

Usually, I just say it's quite nice in Korea. Koreans agree, Canadians are generally clueless. I don't go out of my way to change people's opinions unless they are into politically correct culture, then I tell them that question is a microagression.

I look at this as true expression of values. We always here stuff like voting is important. The right to vote is important. We're brainwashed to support it on the outside. Most people don't value rights unless they are easy to grasp. It's a complicated situation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69824.27
ETH 3761.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81