The Loop: Why Voting and Revolutions Don't Work

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

I love this image:

pull_down_statue6bc8c.jpg

(Loop by Pawel Kuczynski)

To me, this image summarizes what's so wrong with most of the political talk these days. Princeton did a study which argues the United States is an oligarchy, not a constitutional republic (and certainly not a democracy). Voting in someone new won't fix the problem. The "revolutionaries" who understand how useless voting can be don't seem to realize any attempt to overthrow the government will just lead to new rulers. The real problem, as I explained here, is the myth of authority. We have to change our thinking before we can change our world.

If you like this picture as much as I do, please check out the author's website and purchase a print from their incredible collection. Unfortunately for me, my wife won't let me hang one on the wall. :)

While we're talking about my favorite anarchist-flavored images, I have to highlight this magnet I got at PorcFest while hanging out with Larken Rose:

IMG_6158d9f66.jpg

Do you get it? And no, Larken has nothing against wooden measuring devices. If you want to pick up stickers, magnets, or shirts with this image, head over to http://www.incitetees.com/

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do.

Are there other works of art which really capture an idea for you?

Sort:  

We have to change our thinking before we can change our world.

So true. I would add that it's not just our thinking but our doing that must change. Only when we act as if we are already free can it become a reality.

Very well said. I think doing comes from thinking and thinking comes from inputs to our brain (education, art, conversation, relationships, etc). I'm excited for the future as there's plenty to be optimistic about!

If more of us act as if we are already free, more of us truly would be free.

This one spells it all out for me:

Ah yes, I've always loved this one! It reminds me of "We should use physical punishment on our kids to prepare them for an evil world... made up of people who dealt with physical punishment as kids."

Neat, I like nice short articles like this that actually have some meaning behind them.

@calva upvote this man for me

I hope I sourced the author of the image and promoted their content effectively. :)

I would say you did a better job than most around here giving credit. :)

Someone animated the paintings.


Here is an imgur gallery:
http://imgur.com/gallery/lkgik
And a part 2:
https://imgur.com/gallery/idu3E
And I love 'no rulers'.
The film version of this concept is Land of the Blind:
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0433405/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

Yeah, I've seen these animations before as well. So awesome. I need to get myself one of those no rulers t-shirts. :)

What do you mean your wife won't LET you hang it on YOUR wall?

You're not married, are you? Heheh. Happy wife, happy life. She's done more to keep this house beautiful than I ever would have cared to do, and I greatly appreciate it. If I had an office, I might put it up there, but I happily work from home.

I dunno man... you were the guy who was about to explain the myth of authority.

So what gives? How come she's on the Lenin pedestal and you're down there worshipping her color coordinated curtains, telling yourself you greatly appreciate it? Something to think about if you're a thinker.

Hahah. Go re-read my post. The type of authority I was talking about deals with coercion, false monopoly creation, and deception. I'm sorry, but it sounds to me like you're projecting your relationship issues onto my marriage. If you were to come over sometime and eat dinner with us, you'd see we have a pretty amazing relationship. If you're trolling, feeding time is over.

Being a more conceptual vs visual person, the best image I could think of that's provoked me is the Stop Bitching, Start a Revolution Bumper Sticker. Year's back one of my friends bought me one of these after they had come across some of the Zendik crew. I realize the revolution part kinda goes against what you're saying here, again just my limited visual mind.

Conceptually however, I agree with your point and what comes to mind is when I first hear Noam Chomsky talk about Anarcho-syndicalism. It seems to align with your point in that, another election or revolution instills another leader, and that we don't really need a leader. There are so many things that many people don't and shouldn't need to be told to do or not do.

James Madison said it beautifully, "If men were angels, no government would be necessary. If angels were to govern men, neither external nor internal controls on government would be necessary. In framing a government which is to be administered by men over men, the great difficulty lies in this: you must first enable the government to control the governed; and in the next place, oblige it to control itself."

Well said. As I like to think about it, good ideas don't require force. I linked out to my myth of authority post which you might also like. The problem with government, as it exists today, is it attracts people who wish to rule over others. I'm okay with the "bitching" only when it's constructive idea creation. Revolutions are often destructive and wasteful while not accomplishing much long term since the rapidly created power void is rapidly filled. As I was saying to @bacchist, our ideas form our actions, and it's important for people to think beyond the models of society they were given since birth. With where many of us are today on Maslow's Hierarchy of needs, we don't need rulers to understand the benefits to all in striving for increasing well-being and win/win game theory tactics.

Thanks for your comment. I like many of Chomsky's views, but I also think he misses some value which market forces can provide, but I may be mischaracterizing him a bit.

I'd say you're probably correct about Chomsky's lack of fondness for the market, but I'd disagree with your assessment that he's missing something. :)

I am surprised to hear that you like many of Chomsky's views. I would not have expected it.

He's a ridiculously smart dude, and I think he accurately points out many of the problems with cronyism, government use of force, systemic problems, etc. I just think he misses the incredible benefit to human well-being that voluntary exchange and use of capital brings to humanity. I've only seen some interviews and read some things, but no deep dive. Many anarcho-capitalist friends like to bash on anyone and everyone who doesn't strictly follow their flavor, but I think we can learn important things from anyone.

Yea, my conceptual mind just pulled that sticker when dealing with any type of anarchy/individual based system. For me it's more the sentiment behind it. Like you said, bitching has to lead to a fix, versus just more bitching.
A little enlightenment goes a long way! :P

Yea, I like certain stuff from Chomsky and others not so much. He was the one that exposed me to the term of anarcho-syndicalism, being my break from the propaganda showing anarchy only as chaos and destruction. The first true lesson to many things is "wait, it doesn't actually HAVE to be this way?"

If you're interested a handful of us have been having the more constructive conversation around 'If we were to make a better society/community (on the small scale, not global) at
how-to-make-a-small-utopia-and-steemit-might-be-able-to-help
and just complied responses together into
furthering-the-utopia-discussion-version-2-0

Love to hear your ideas

Ha, I went to read the myth of authority post and saw I'd read and liked it yesterday. Was also a great post.

You said a mouth full @lukestokes voting someone will not change much at all if anything. That 1st photo is so powerful man great share!!! Will be checking out the links for sure.

It's been one of my favorites for a long time. I've seen it shared quite a bit on Facebook, but before Steemit, I never knew who the author was. When putting this together, I found the author's site. I hope it drives some traffic their direction.

I dont know what is going on im america . i have never travelled out before. I am just a poor nigerian kid trying to make a living. But what i dont understand is. I perceive usa to be a great country where people are free and have a good government. If someone from my country travels to America he is always like a God. Maybe i am getting it wrong. Maybe Usa is not who i think she is.

I would say people are not really free. If you want to start a business, build a home, travel to another part of the world, get married, go fishing, fly a drone or a plane, drive a car, etc, etc... then you need permission from the government via permits, licenses, and so forth.

Americans may be "more free" than others (mainly due to their economic wellbeing), but I don't think we are truly free. There are more restrictions on freedom today then in many other times in the history of this country. It started out much like a minarchy with very little centralized government. That's the reason, I think, it prospered so greatly.

Unfortunately, all systems which start out with the root of authoritarian thinking (i.e., it's okay for humans to rule over other humans) will eventually lead to centralization of power and control resulting in less freedom.

No matter what the situation is in your country. I'll do anything to be a citizen. Well i am sorry for whatever you might be facing in your country but can one every be free. I saw the video. In it someone still had to be superior

I guess I don't view voluntary, mutually beneficial exchange as one person being superior over another.

Well if it is going to serve its purpose then it is fine. But i doubt if it is going to work out in my country.

My people are just not the best people. I dont know if you understand me

what you think, you shall become?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06