Parliamentarism in the UK and Iceland: visions for the 21st Century [Audio]

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

At the beginning of September, I left Minnesota to embark on the Steem P2P Tour.

So far my journey has taken me in some pretty wonderful and unexpected directions. At the outset I was joined by the incomparable @wolfcat. We journeyed together from Minneapolis, to Philadelphia to Brooklyn, then set off across the Atlantic waters for Ireland, and Iceland.


While in Iceland I had the good fortune to meet up with Birgitta Jónsdóttir, Co-founder of the Icelandic Pirate Party, a member of Parliament, and Poetician.

On September 20th I was invited to attend a panel discussion of Icelandic and UK parliamentarians at Reykjavik University.

I had expected there would be a great many students in attendance armed with tough questions for the panel, but I was amazed to discover that I was perhaps the only one in the room who was not a member of government in some capacity.

I managed to record the session, and I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into the discussions being had by parliamentarians in the 21st century.

It was a somewhat hasty audio setup, so please excuse the quality.

Parliamentarism in the UK and Iceland: visions for the 21st Century

Speakers, in order of speech.

Ari Kristinn Jónsson, rector of Reykjavík University
Angus MacNeil, Scottish MP
Birgitta Jónsdóttir, Icelandic MP
Julie Elliott, British MP
Teitur Björn Einarsson, Icelandic MP
Baron Kevin Shinkwin, British House of Lords
Cat Smith, British MP
Olivia Bloomfield, British House of Lords
Andrew Rosindell, British MP
Martin Vickers, British MP
Dale Campbell-Savours, British House of Lords


So what do you think about Parliamentarism in the 21st Century?

Genuinely curious to hear what you all have to say. :)


Next Up: more from the road, on the #steemp2ptour :)

Sort:  

nice post @lovejoy.

its useful.

Thanks for sharing

Thank you! I love what you're up to as well!

You're having some amazing experiences on that trip. Looking forward to reading about the next stop!

It's been profound so far... I can't wait to share more. I'm in Detroit now with the @agoric.systems team. Taking some time to check in and catch up with the community, then on to NYC.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54