Steemit thoughts on Brexit? Let's talk.

in #politics8 years ago

Being in England the past few months before and after the Brexit decision to leave, it’s been a very interesting experience for me. I’m not usually one to talk about politics at all. I like to travel and share photos, but I thought maybe we should talk more about it. (I know it feels over played by now, maybe not?)

I was not on one side or the other. If anything, I said they should stay just for the chance one day I would get a UK citizenship and be able to live and work in other countries in Europe.

When I heard local friends in the UK talking about it before the decision I would ask them - What will happen if you stay, what will happen if you leave? Their answer was always, well, I’m not sure. There really was no straight facts on what would happen if they stayed or left. In my opinion, for such a huge decision, it seemed like a very uneducated vote.

Once I found out that the vote was 52% for leaving there were two things that happened in my mind:

1. I thought well, that’s only half, it’s not really majority to me. They should re-vote.

2. What’s next?

It seemed like what was next was the sad part. The news was bombarded with crap, the Prime Minister resigning, but wait, people who supported the leave vote were resigning as well?! What is going on? After the Farage speech I was appalled by how he represented the UK like an angry child, I also felt like it made the people divided because of their opinions and scared of what’s to come. 

At least this make me giggle:

Like I said, I don’t talk much politics, but it was a very interesting and of course a controversial topic. One that I’d like to open to the Steemit community because I'm sure you all have something to say and I'm intrigued….

What are your thoughts on the decision to leave? How do you think it will affect you? Comment with where you live + your opinion!

Sort:  

Great, thank you!

For me living here, I agree that it the vote was not enough of a majority decision, and I do think it should be re-voted purely on that reason alone. The hatred that has divided us as a country is on the other hand something that I never could have dreamed of and makes me ashamed to be a uk citizen.. there is never any right for the behaviour that so many think that it is now ok to display to others :(

Thank you for your thoughts... I have met so many others that feel this way!

Congratulations @louliebau! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57