The Guardian and Sky News think that the Russians managed to rig the EU referendum with 419 twitter accounts

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

http://archive.is/gjP29 - Guardian

So I haven't found the sky news articles yet but I did see it on their live television and linked a Guardian article saying the same thing. Apparently, those of us who voted leave were 'tricked' or 'influenced' by the propaganda of a mere 419 twitter accounts. Now for people who actually use the internet and know just how many people are on the like of twitter and facebook ( An admittedly dwindling number because social networks are often very creepy and invasive, which is why I like Steemit so much ;) ) you'd know that that's absolutely nothing in comparison to the sheer numbers that are hanging about on social media.

I thought this post would be a bit light hearted compared to some of the stuff I've been looking at lately because it is just fucking funny, they really do think that people who disagree with them are that stupid. The guardian article you will see also interestingly points out an event as 'fake news' that was about the London bridge attack where they claim that it was a fake twitter account which decided to go after a Muslim girl claiming that she was ignoring an injured person while looking at her phone.

That's not what happened, the poster didn't last five seconds before they were called out, I actually remember this quite clearly because I can't remember if I read a correction or had my own suspicions about it but either way I and others quickly realised what was going on here. I think I remember that the original photograph that came out was too blurry to begin with so you couldn't see what she was actually doing and of course, cut to the HD version and she actually looks quite upset.

A woman in a headscarf passes the scene of the terrorist attack on Westminster Bridge in March. Russia-run accounts tried to stir anti-Islamic sentiment by falsely claiming she had ignorted victims. Photograph: REX/Shutterstock

Also, I'm wondering if I shouldn't make a post every now and then mocking the incompetence of these journalists who write up such garbage articles. These people are getting regular paychecks for their work and they don't even have the decency to put there stuff through a basic spellcheck, hell, you've got all you need on chrome, what's wrong with these people?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59