You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How the Left Left Me

in #politics8 years ago

By the way, an antifascist/communist I met while in prison told me that libertarian used to be a label used by early communists. It seems like a somewhat incorrect label to me, librium rather than libertas. The essence of communism is that someone 'outside' society can objectively weigh the distribution of inputs and outputs. A lot of latin roots get muddled because of their similarities.

Capitalist is another one. I got this muddled myself - carpe vs capit, to grasp, and the head. The french word 'entrepreneur' relates to the first, the second is related to the idea of plutocracy.

Sort:  

Very interesting. It's always fun to learn about where our words come from.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64296.25
ETH 3182.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55