Question for libertarians and/or AnCaps

in #politics8 years ago

Everyone knows you can't answer the essential Q of "who will build the roads w/o govt?", which completely discredits your entire philosophy (sarcasm!), but I have a different Q for y'all:

Who do you find to be more insane: those on the Left (liberals/progressives, Democrat-aligned voters, whatever you want to call them) or those on the Right (conservatives, Republican-aligned voters, etc.)?

In my experiences those on the Right (for as many bad ideas/policies that they support) at least try to engage in rational debate, have a vague understanding that govt. can't provide everything you want for 'free', and seem reasonably tolerant of opposing views/lifestyles, while the Left has gone Full Retard and is, at this point, practically DEMANDING that everyone adopt their views...I've heard some folks (like the awesome historian Thaddeus Russell) refer the the Left as "the New Puritans" which I find to be an appropriate description of these fanatical fucktards.

Sort:  

It's interesting. I feel like the left is fairly crazy, but we have the alt-right arising now which is, in my opinion (as far as the extreme alt-right is concerned), the rights response to the insanity of the left.

But as an ancap, really anyone that is a statist is a leftist to a varying degree for me. Why? Because they all want someone to pay for something by force. The left wants education and healthcare paid for but the right wants to have the military and police payed for the very same way. Try talking about privatizing those things and you see what I mean.

So they are all varying levels of "leftist" to me because they all say "government aught to provide something". That said, the right I find is much easier to talk to on these subjects and they end up being far more accepting and open to these ideas in general. I should know since I was a neo-con myself before I became an AnCap.

I agree that the left is the "new puritans" too.

Yeah, in talking to conservatives (esp. Boomer Generation ones) I'm struck by the fact that they are, essentially, New Deal/Great Society Democrats (they generally support every major big-govt. welfare/warfare policy that exists), yet they don't even seem to realize it.

They like guns, pay lip-service to freedom ideals, and consider themselves more 'patriotic' (i.e., they love their nation/govt.), but aside from that, they're really not all that different from leftists.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34