You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do we need Prison?

in #politics7 years ago

Unfortunately I think the prison system is here to stay....Morality and compassion have left the majority of the population leading to more violent crimes against one another.

I would rather see like minded people voluntarily gather into communities and have a very small rate of people violating other people freedom. There isn't enough peaceful left to participate in a society like that

Sort:  

Unfortunately I think the prison system is here to stay....Morality and compassion have left the majority of the population leading to more violent crimes against one another.

I dont buy that. Look at Steemit, so many friendly and peaceful people. The concept of 'all human are evil deep down inside' is a lie pushed by the media in my opinion.

There is lots of nice and friendly people but it seems as though so many were willing to lay down their own personal responsibility for convenience. When so many people are not responsible for their own self sustainability it leads them to be less respectful of other peoples rights to be free to exist outside of the means that suit them. I just cannot see a large enough population of people who are truly responsible for their own self actions emerging from this current mass of people. I don't think a voluntary society could rise out of society currently.

I truly wish it could because I don't like how things are right now.

Great post. I love talking to people about ideas.

I feel society teaches you to always look out for your own interests first and always try to get the easiest way. What does it get you to try hard at school? Nothing, but your classmates will call you geek and dork.

So I agree that many people have a weird sense of morality in this day and age, but I dont think it is impossible to change.

Thanks for the kind words and getting involved in the discussion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64