A Progressive's View On Progressives

in #politics7 years ago


source

I think one of the biggest problems in modern political discourse is that we lump people into narrowly defined groups rather than a spectrum. For example, I am very much a progressive. I have progressive ideals, both socially and economically, and I put those ideals forward as I see them: ideals. I vote as a progressive. I tend to find better company in progressives.

This all said, I think there are a LOT of people who give progressives a bad name, and there are a lot of tactics used to forward our agenda that are absolute bullshit. Broadly speaking, trying to shut down conversation is a big one. I've got a fascist "friend" of sorts (pretty much self-proclaimed) who I vehemently disagree with, but will have an open conversation with in public without trying to shut him up. It's healthy to compare ideas, especially when they're radically different than your own.

While I disagree with centrism for not going far enough to support citizens in a wealthy country (globally is a much better debate IMO) I tend to agree with most of the complaints that centrists levy towards the left. I'm confident the problem lies with a vocal minority, but there is way too much petty bullshit done by these people that is easy to spot and get annoyed with. To me, it's all hugely counter productive. Spreading hate, even with good intention, is still spreading hate. Shouting down literal nazis is one thing, but treating the entire right-wing as nazis is ridiculous.Promoting white guild is ridiculous. Ham fisting equality into law as a replacement for social education is ridiculous.

I largely see this as a divide along the liberal-authoritarian spectrum though. I still believe in freedom and the right to live your life as you see fit as long as you don't infringe on the freedoms of others. Some of my peers on the other hand seem to think it's appropriate to force people to accept their point of view and that "offensive" views should be silenced. I still tend to get along with these people, but god do they drive me nuts sometimes.

Sort:  

Can you define what you consider to be "infringing upon the freedoms of others?" Progressives view themselves as having the morally superior high ground on topics, and therefore are willing to demonize others without repercussions.

If you truly believed that no one should infringe upon others freedoms, you wouldn't consider yourself a progressive politically. You would be a libertarian. That is the essence of the libertarian philosophy. Progressives instead in today's current political spectrum believe that it is morally justified to infringe upon others freedoms in applications that they consider to be for "the greater good." It is pretty immaterial to them how that affects people that disagree with them.

I bet you disagree, so lets look at an example. Strict local gun laws have been proposed and enacted in places like California. How is this not a direct infringement upon other's freedoms? If a crazy person wants to kill people, they obviously don't have the moral values that would keep them from acquiring a gun illegally. So why propose a law to prohibit the law abiding citizens from owning guns? What good does it do? It hasn't worked in the cities that have some of the strictest gun laws, so why expand the policies? I try my best to follow all local and federal laws, which means that in some places I cannot own a gun or particular type of gun because it is for the greater good. How can this be rationalized? I have never killed anyone or done harm to any person with a gun, but I do enjoy going to gun ranges and hunting. People have control over their own actions. Just as spoons do not make people fat, guns do not kill people. Someone has to make a bad decision or series of bad decisions.

Universal healthcare is another issue. Essentially globalists and progressives have come to the conclusion that the freedoms of some people are less important then the "rights" (I put this in quotations because I don't believe healthcare is a right) of others based solely upon tax brackets. What if I don't want to pay for or have the government pay for my healthcare? Why should I be forced by the IRS under penalty of fines to use other peoples money for a service that I never use?

Lastly, you said you find yourself more comfortable in the presence of other "progressives." I would encourage you to get out and meet more people that you know are conservative or disagree with Progressive ideology. You may find that some of these people are just as decent and fun to be around as your progressive friends. Try to keep in mind that everyone's life experiences are different, and because of this people have differing viewpoints on political issues. Try to ignore people's political thoughts until you get to know them, and try to view them as an individual.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48