I am Thankful for My Freedom

in #politics7 years ago

It is easy to get wound up in all of the divisiveness and ugly political climate that much of the Free World is currently experiencing.  But if you are fortunate to live in a country that still has some resemblance of freedom- You Should be Thankful and Grateful to the people that have sacrificed to give you the ability to be free to express your opinion without significant fear of being shut down!  They are many countries today that stifle freedom and ensure conformity through censorship, force, and violence.  If you are reading this post, you most likely do not reside in those countries.

I personally, have very strong opinions on how our country should be governed.  And if you follow me, by now you know that I am not afraid to voice those opinions.  You also know that I enjoy debating people that disagree with my opinions.   But at the end of the day, I believe that most of us (Right, Left, and Middle) all come with good intentions and want to continue to enjoy the freedom that we have.  We just bring different approaches to solutioning the issues at hand.

As we enter this week before Independence Day in the United States and as other countries honor their own Independence Days in the upcoming weeks, I ask that after reading this post. reflect on what freedom means to and feel free to share your thought.  I also ask that you either begin or continue to maintain perspective, and be thankful for the freedom that you have to be outspoken, rebellious, and controversial when it comes to expressing our opinions.  And also be thankful that we have a Steemit Platform that serves as a community for us to use to express display our Freedom!

Also, keep in mind that while us Freedom Lovers may not be on the same teams, we are in the SAME LEAGUE!

Sort:  

Great post! I'm from Canada and I couldn't agree with you more, looking forward to reading more!

And then there are those of us who tend to migrate to those who share some of the same ideals. Thanks. Great post.

And keep in mind that most of the people who are sacrificing for your rights are NOT in the military.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64