Returning to Venezuela and going back to hiding in 2012

in #politics6 years ago

Read the post that precedes this one: "Decision to leave the country temporarily again. (January 11, 2011)" here https://steemit.com/venezuela/@janheram/decision-to-leave-the-country-temporarily-again-january-11-2011


I returned to Venezuela while it is public that current and former mayors and several other officials are being questioned in connection with murder masterminds through corrupt transactions.

I had stopped writing about Maria and had extended my holidays in the USA to an accumulated 9 months.

By the time I returned, the murder trial had been rescheduled 29 times. This is an obvious sign that the murder masterminds were being protected by politicians capable of influencing the already corrupt justice system. Venezuelan justice system is corrupt but it will only take bribes from lesser crimes, never for a murder that is publicly discussed. Therefore, the only reason the trial was being postponed over and over was that some minister or even Venezuelan Vice President's or the President's network was involved in protecting Manuel Andrade and his partner.

I had to keep a low profile in Venezuela after learning about the powerful mafia able to change the judge on a public murder and reschedule it 29 times. I decided to completely avoid public events of any kind and public meetings relating politics.

I was not able to have a normal life. Getting a regular job would entail me leaving and coming back home at predictable times. I could then be tracked or traced. I did not have certainty about this; but out of sensibility and because I could afford to make a living through online or phone business, I did not get a regular job in Venezuela.

By then, I thought that I was being paranoid since I was not a journalist and had only served as an informant that one time when my Aunt Maria Clelia was murdered. So, I decided to work on my fear and wait until the murder case was finished, hoping that the murder main mastermind, Manuel Andrade, got sentenced for his crime.

Read the post that continues relating this story: 2013/Aug: Connection with Municipal Council in my home town

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44