Know thy enemy

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

I'm very grateful that I have learned about the basic tenets of freedom. I keep those ideas and principles close to me at all times. However, I intend to keep my "enemy closer." Instead of solely trying to conceive of a free world for my grandchildren by appreciating and admiring the wonders of anarchism (which I agree, are great) the eye of the anarchist needs to regularly be focused on the enemy. Yes, his heart needs to embrace the beauty of both the idea of self ownership and the non aggression principle. His mind needs to understand the logic of freedom and of the free market. His soul must be one with the morality that requires him to stay out of the business of others. His behavior must be in line with the ideas and principles of anarchism. Yes, I agree - anarchism and the resulting freedom, is wonderful. I just think that the "enemy" - the bad idea that humans do not own themselves and the inevitable slavery that results from embracing that idea - will never just go away on its own. I think that if freedom is to become and is to then be sustained, then individuals need to be ceaselessly observant and critical. I want my grandchildren to be free for sure, but I also want my children and myself to be free. Yes, keep your eyes on the prize. Just take an occasional glance in the dark ally.

I know that I'm preaching to the choir.

Freedom necessitates vigilance.

Peace and Love,

Jamie

Sort:  

I think you mean 'tenets' not 'tenants'?

Thanks
Fixed it.

Can't convert people that are already converted! You're spot on man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56