Deconstructing Militaristic SloganeeringsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics5 years ago (edited)

"If you can't stand behind the troops, feel free to stand in front of them!"

soldiers-1002_1920.jpg
Image credit

Perhaps you have seen this statement on bumper stickers, social media memes, or web forum conversations. Maybe it has even been told to you in conversation. It's a frustrating thing to be given such an empty response to criticism of foreign policy.

Instead of addressing concerns about entangling alliances, support for totalitarian regimes, establishment of puppet dictatorships, the deaths of civilians, and the risk of blowback, the defender of militarism says, "If you're not with us, you're against us." Instead of acknowledging historical precedents and philosophical questions, the war hawks demand unquestioning support for their policies and declare dissent to be treason. Soldiers say, "If you haven't signed up, you should shut up," as though theirs is the only relevant perspective.

This kind of thought is antithetical to liberty. We are being taxed to fund the military adventurism that pervades the policies of both US parties. We suffer the consequences when terrorists strike back. We bear the brunt of the resulting police state ratcheting up after every instance of blowback.

Meanwhile, the fact remains that the US military has murdered thousands of civilians, destroyed uncountable homes and businesses, and demolished entire economies. They have supported dictators. The myth of democracy declares I am complicit in these crimes committed by the government that says it represents me. It is necessary that I speak out.

If this makes me an enemy of the military, the military is on the wrong side. I am not bound to bend my principles to the dictates of the political class. My freedom is not lost somewhere in the middle east, Africa, or Afghanistan like a Roman army standard captured by Germanic barbarians or Persian kings waiting to be reclaimed. If the military can't stand with me here and now as I exercise my freedom of conscience and right to dissent, what can they say they stand for?

Sort:  

I dislike the military and I don't "support the troops" other than wanting to bring them home and get that nasty uniform off their backs. They and their actions make me and my family less safe-- from all enemies, foreign and domestic.

Highly rEsteemed!

Having been in for a while I can unequivocally say I don't hate the player, I hate the game. The entire business of war is secondary to "freedoms" in any fashion. It is all business. If it weren't for the constant push to swing their big shiny metal dicks around and see who gets hit, we might not have so many countries/cultures ready to fight and perfect excuses for the gov't to kill our freedoms.

At this point it seems like a "Bobbit-ing" of the M.I.C. would do us all a heap of good.

2 trillion dollars a year... Shiny toys, troops spread out over the world, personal freedoms diminishing constantly, mass corruption, and here we sit with very little to show for our ~$5700 share of that 2 trillion. 2tr/350mil =~5700. Really i would just assume have the cash over the war mongers.

Congratulations @jacobtothe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 60000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Curated for #informationwar (by @truthforce)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation, and Liberty. We are a peaceful and non-violent movement that sees information as being held back by corrupt forces in the private sector and government. Our Mission.
  • Discord, website, youtube channel links here.

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

Here's a slogan from the "citizen-soldier" days (i.e. when soldiers were still drafted) of the U.S. military: "we defend democracy, we don't practise it." I think the modern all-volunteer military has forgotten the first half of that saying, as they've all signed up to forfeit their freedom and act as the blunt instrument of the state. As much I despise the idea of a draft, I have to say that draftees don't forget what they're fighting for the way volunteers do. But then, what do I know? I only ever served on the civilian side of the military-industrial-congressional complex for four years, making parts for the damn bombs.

By the way, if you find the subject of the military particularly vexing, might I suggest checking out Bracing Views? My former history professor writes it, and I'm a regular reader.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79