You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am a huge Obama supporter. I voted for Hillary. Now I support Trump.

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

I heard on a news broadcast that the U.S. President position makes $400,000 USD a year. Apparently Trump has agreed to do the job for $1 USD/year and waive his right to the remaining $399,999 USD

Has anyone else heard this? Is it true? Can you name any other president recently that has done this?

Sort:  

I haven't heard this yet, but it would not surprise me. It will be one of the interesting things about Trump's presidency - he does not need to care about the money :)

Two other U.S. Presidents did this too apparently... Herbert Hoover (1929-1933) and John F Kennedy (1961-1963)

So it would have been 54 years since our last president opted out and took $1 USD salary.

BBC news, in my opinion, acts like it's not a big deal. I think it is..

John Kennedy was the last one. and the Herbert Hoover before that. They gave their salaries to charity (and Hoover gave some to his staff).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67887.98
ETH 3775.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66