You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Utopia ALWAYS leads to Dystopia (Updated/ReSteemed 5/25)

in #politics7 years ago

"But we relied on our common humanity with those guys attacking us. I don't understand what happened!"

Loving everyone is the goal, but not when he's coming after my friend with a weapon...

Interesting post. I should read Utopia, I have a copy somewhere that I never got to. Rao's interpretation is succinct! lol

Sort:  

That whole series on Office Space is interesting!

Sorry, I do not follow the connection.

Digression - Fans of The Office ( the American version) should check out Rao's The Gervais Principle as well. This series of essays captures the human dynamics in organizations that readily translates into effects on governance.

http://www.ribbonfarm.com/2009/10/07/the-gervais-principle-or-the-office-according-to-the-office/

Rao's discussion of the company hierarchy as composed of 3 types of employees (sociopath, clueless, loser) can be seen in government and politics as well, especially in the sociopath type as a politician or burrocratic bigwig

I only watched a few episodes. I don't recall ever experiencing it as political. Dunno if I can handle watching it anymore though. Will have to give the article you provided a better read if I get some free time soon, but it seems a rather pessimistic view to have only 3 types (and specifically those) of employees. With those 3 options alone, I guess I'd rather be clueless? lol!

I don't think I can do Rao's explanation justice (and not in one comment); he does a great job of clarity in brevity ;>
He uses the examples from the show The Office to demonstrate

Brevity and precision are definitely skills where I lack as well. (Thank you steemit for the chance to practice.) Hopefully I'll get to his article this weekend, provided I don't forget.

always too much to read, too much to write ;>

And even if the day were 28 hrs, it'd still be the same I figure...

Have a great weekend, even if only 48^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54