Open Letter to the DNC

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

I am a student and a member of the American Middle Class. Climate Change, Global Security, and Tax Reform are important to me, but I am afraid that my voice can no longer be heard.

The issue is that public image.

I associate as a liberal, yet, even to me, the label has negative connotations. This is the source of all problems for the DNC. Even Michael Moore is against the Democratic Party, tweeting:

      “The DNC & DCCC has NO idea how 2 win cause they have no message, no plan, no leaders, won't fight & hate the resistance.”

For the Democratic Party to succeed, there must be a new image.

Right now, the Democratic image is that of old-woman Hillary Clinton. The Democratic image is that of the Berkeley riots. The Democratic image is that of a much-needed dark horse, not a donkey. The Democratic image is one of individuals who are worried about political correctness and microaggressions.

I agree, these are problems, but only to a minority. To further cater to this group will, at present, only alienate the masses needed to win the next set of elections.

What we need right now is a break from tradition.

What the Democratic Party needs right now is to bring in youth. For people my age, promises of Social Security will not win us over; we are short term thinkers my generation.

What is needed is a campaign to gain the respect of the people the Democratic Party once had.

The problem with extreme politics is that it leaves the majority of people in the middle feeling unrepresented. I am this majority. The new image must cater to these, my people, to our people.

There is a chance of a century for reform, if only we take it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68797.43
ETH 3730.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76