Radical Cram School (YouTube series): I can't tell if this is serious or not

in #politics5 years ago

Kristina Wong is a comedian and activist and she has also been elected to a quite small position in San Francisco. She has released a Sesame Street looking program on YouTube and I watched a bit of it and can't tell if she is being serious or not.

radicalcramschool01.jpg
source

She refers to her "students" as comrades and as luck would have it the kids are a wide variety of ethnicity, but of course, no one is white. The show is meant to be teaching kids to not be racist or sexist, but in the very first episode Comrade Kristina applauds a little girl who is saying something racist about white people.

She uses words like patriarchy and gender-fluid and of course the kids are interested and most of them already know what it means... I'm quite certain this was not scripted at all because what 7 year old doesn't know what patriarchy means... right?

jenessa-joffe-kwong_op_happy.jpg
source

If it is meant to be a caricature of how activists take things too far than I can applaud that. However, since there are kids involved I don't really like to see this sort of indoctrination. It isn't going to help anyone if you keep reassuring young kids that their lives are going to be filled with undeserved hatred and racism and that white people are to blame.

At one point she claims that the reason why Hello Kitty doesn't have a mouth is because the artist "is trying to portray that Asian girls should be quiet." This is completely false and the original Hello Kitty creator and artist is in fact an Asian Woman.

I'm all about freedom of speech but this to me just seems dumb and actually counterproductive to anyone that bothers to see it. It has nearly 100,000 views which means she is going to get some sort of payout but of course, like a good liberal activist, Kristina has disabled comments and also won't allow us to see the like / dislike ratio. Before she deactivated the second thing, the video had 250 likes and about 11,000 dislikes.

Sort:  

I don’t think that this YouTube series should be your kid’s first choice. I would recommend to look for some Netflix series if you are looking for something more serious or for an educational purpose. YouTube videos are free to watch, they have literally no filters...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have a feeling it is probably meant more for adults to be some sort of satire. From the way you explain it, that sounds like what the target audience is. I don't really watch a lot of Youtube videos, so I don't think I need to worry about this one coming across my desktop :)

I am into youtube videos but very selective and creative channels only. and I know such kind of videos comes on youtube, the best way is to ignore them.
anyways keep flourishing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60716.58
ETH 3369.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48