You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Hate Crime Bill to Protect Police Passes House Vote with 89% Majority

in #politics6 years ago

haha, "hate crime" was always such an absurd thing ... a crime is a crime, I don't care what thoughts are going on in your head if you throw a brick at me lol, treating it as "throwing a brick at me" is enough

I guess this is kind of blowback. If people want crimes to be different or special when it happens to your category of people, now everyone will try to get in on that, including apparently cops.

Sort:  

Agreed. Hate crime = thought crime. Why would I care if someone hurt or killed me because they wanted my stuff or because they hated me?

Yeah, doing harm to someone is harm. If it's motivated by hate of a group doesn't matter and shouldn't be a crime in itself. But "hate crime" laws target people who harm no one, just for speaking. Some validly question the "facts" of WWII and the "holocaust" and get put in hail for "hate crime" BS...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71