Three reasons why voting on blockchain is a great idea

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

For many years I'm interested in politics, geopolitics, political philosophy, etc.
I used to participate in elections as candidate (got less than 1% of votes, but I funded my campaign from my own money and I was independent candidate, which was very bad for that elections - almost in all districts party candidates won), as observer, as political analyst, and a bit as political technologist. Then for some time I was working as advisor to MP (and I'm still advisor on pro bono status).

That's why Horizon State's idea of voting on blockchain is very inspiring for me.
In this article I don't want to go deep into technical details, you can check them in Horizon's State white paper, and to join Horizon's community on Telegram to check all the updates of development, partnerships as well as other news from crypto world.
As for me voting on blockchain will have future benefits:

  1. Decrease (if not elimination) of falsifications.
    Of course falsification techniques adapt to technological changes. I remember many different falsification attempts, such as bribing voters, so-called carousels, ballots stealing, wrong calculation of votes, etc.
    Accurate conduction of votes on blockchain should help to decrease the amount of falsification of votes. How exactly - this question should be developed, tested, firstly in different small votes, then may be on local levels, before the system goes to the national elections.

  2. Cost-saving
    Blockchain and IT in general has possibility to save lots of costs. Knowing how many resources, people, are involved into elections process - I imagine that huge amounts of money can be saved and allocated to another areas.

  3. Time-saving
    Blockchain and efficiency of voting process can save lots of time for people. I remember 1 year when the national, local and mayor elections were held in 1 day, and each person had 4 ballots, each ballot was huge and it would take at least 10 minutes just to read all the candidates, parties names. Then members of commission spent several days (!!) counting the votes. Voting on blockchain can save lots of time for everyone who is involved in elections process as organizationally, but also for all the voters - there should be less queues.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69