You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Agree With Removing Confederate Statues

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Did you just compare Robert E. Lee with Adolf Hitler? As a German I am shocked by this outragous comparison. Lee just wanted to defend his home and was deeply troubled by how history enfolded for him and the USA. He was offered a General position in the Yankee army but refused in order to lead his own people. His decision probably did cost a lot of people their lives because he was such a great military commander that the war continued longer than it otherwise probably would have. You can blame him for that. But he is a strong part of US history and by FAR not even close to all the atrocities the States have done since their existence up until today.

Sort:  

Hi @flauwy – thanks for your comment.

I did not compare Lee and Hitler, nor did I imply that their actions were the same. I used Hitler as an example to show that it is possible to remember history without erecting a statue for someone.

Ok I see, I misunderstood that. I guess the topic is pretty hot in the States right now with all those Neo-Nazi movements.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68