Minnesota Teacher Talks About White Privilege

in #politics6 years ago

"I can, both, teach my students with privilege to maybe get a better understanding of where that privilege comes from, and then maybe with students of color, to hopefully give some of the language and background, so that they...can put to words some of the stuff they know in their hearts."

IMG_20190120_161103_521.jpg

I interviewed this school teacher (along with several other folks) leaving the "Racism in Minnesota" speaking event earlier this week.

In response to his quote above, I asked, "Are you so bold in your classes as to tell white students about privilege and to suggest they're privileged?"

"Yes," he replied. "Probably the biggest response I might get that's not what I'm looking for would just be indifference."

"Do some get offended?"

"Some do. More often I think kids will just be quieter and not want to engage in that."

I also asked this man about the responses he gets from his non-white students when telling them they lack privilege...


In addition, we talked about the general topic of racism in Minnesota, as did each of the half-dozen other people I interviewed. I'm compiling our discussions for a video soon to be released on my YouTube channel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75