Michael Snyder Discovers How Members Of Congress REALLY Spend Their Time... WOW!

in #politics7 years ago

When I Found Out How Members Of Congress Really Spend Their Time, I Just About Threw Up…

From Michael Snyder:

Did you know that many members of Congress spend three or four hours a day “dialing for dollars” in cramped call centers that both parties have set up in Washington? I promised that I would keep all of you updated on what I am learning as I run for Congress, and what I learned the other day just about had me losing my lunch. I always imagined members of Congress spending long hours in their offices working on legislation and other important matters, but the truth is that most members of Congress are little more than glorified telemarketers at this point. Winning the next election is everything for most of these Congress critters, and so they spend far more time making cold calls to potential donors than doing anything else.

Have you ever had a politician call you up in the middle of the day begging for money? It is an absolutely disgraceful thing to do, but the truth is that money is the number one factor in determining election outcomes, and so our professional politicians have an endless appetite for it.

Every two years, more than a billion dollars is spent on congressional elections, and those that are masters at raising money just keep winning over and over again.

Something desperately needs to be done to fix our fundamentally flawed system, but neither party seems to have any desire to take the money out of politics.

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote an article about the fact that the U.S. House of Representatives will only be in session for 147 days this year. But even on those days, members of Congress are not exactly spending much time doing what they were elected to do.

Continue Reading at:
http://www.silverdoctors.com/headlines/finance-news/michael-snyder-discovers-how-members-of-congress-really-spend-their-time/

Sort:  

Hello! I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me! i will upvote your future posts! To any other visitor, upvote this post also to receive free UpVotes from me! Happy SteemIt! // @princessexi
halo! Saya anggota baru Steemit ! Upvote komentar ini dan follow saya! Saya akan upvote posting Anda juga! Untuk pengunjung lain, upvote posting ini juga untuk menerima UpVotes gratis dari saya! SalamSteemIt! @princessexi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59