Rampant hypocrisy in politics, why politics can suck it, and why astronomy is the tits

in #politics8 years ago

You are about to drink in my first public blog, although my writing skills have been brewing for about 18 years. The focus of my blogs will be anything I find interesting and thought provoking. To me, humans have already explored all things interesting between the earth and the clouds. So it really comes down to the oceans and the sky. Since the oceans get enough attention during Shark Week, the majority of my writing will focus on the sky, the stars, planets, and the universe. In order to do that, however, I must first write a blog about politics. If we can dismiss politics as a pissing contest of brain washing and power mongering, then we can focus on something tangible and grounding: astronomy.

Politics brings out the worst in people. I'm not referring to the never ending Facebook posts that my Aunt uses to express her Trumphatred ©, although it is overwhelming sad. Similarly, I don't believe the bigot filled rhetoric my father absorbs from watching Bill O'Reilly every night is at the pinnacle of the political crisis. The worst part about politics, for me, is the rampant hypocrisy that courses through every diehard Republican and Democrat's veins.

Republicans are masters of hypocrisy. They uphold freedoms like our right to bear arms, yet support a presidential candidate that believes barring Muslims entry to the United States will solve the ISIL problem. Freedom of religion gets tossed out the window when it comes to uncircumcised Republican dick-slinging. It doesn't matter that such hateful rhetoric only helps ISIL by alienating the millions of peaceful Muslims on this planet. Other examples abound, such as the criticism of executive orders when it is a democratic president enacting them, but I digress.

What really prompted this topic was the shameful hypocritical actions of my Democrat Facebook friends. In a pool of 1,011 FB friends that either come from the suburbs of Boston, MA, or from a liberal arts school in upstate New York, we can safely assume 1K are liberals. Being the flaming liberals they are, most posted, shared or liked this clip from the Newsroom.

. I'm a big fan of Patriotism and celebrating America's successes, so I was a bit bothered by the excitement by which everyone jumped at the opportunity to share this clip but do nothing about it. Even if the message is correct, why share the problems within our country through social media without actively seeking to solve them. Nonetheless, the facts are for the most part indisputable and the clip played its role as a blip in the social media universe, a talking point for Millennials and hip old people alike. I accepted it.

That is until July 25th, 2016, when the SAME DAMN LIBERALS that applauded Jeff Daniels' rant about America NOT being the greatest country in the world fell head over heals IN LOVE with Michelle Obama for saying the EXACT OPPOSITE. In the hypocrites defense, Daniels said America was not the greatest country in the WORLD, while Michelle said America is the greatest country on EARTH. World versus Earth aside, the hypocrisy is about as shameful as coalescing your significant other into multiple vasectomy surgeries. You have no idea the physical tole that 3 vasectomies have on a person. Just ask Michael Scott...

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=michael+scott+snip+snap+snip+snap

Snip, snap; snip, snap; snip, snap. I wish everyone would start supporting pure ideas instead of the success of their party. Clinton is such a weak candidate, her most effective speech to date was given by someone else! Yet the voters do not care. They justify blindly following certain candidates by arguing that they are the lesser of two evils. The worst part is, that logic makes perfect sense to me. In high school and college the class president always seemed like the best and the brightest. Why is that not the case on the national stage? Who fucking knows. Rather than waste our time trying to figure it out, let's all agree to not be hypocrites when it comes to politics. Express your ideals and justify your beliefs, independent of party lines. I'll begin:

Politicians are scumbags and astronomy is far more interesting. Did you know the word "lunatic" comes from the latin for moon, "luna". The reason is that ancient peoples used to believe staring at the moon too often made you go crazy. Before being introduced to her character, Harry Potter readers should have known Luna Lovegood would be batshit. If you don't want to go crazy listening to the most toxic and illogical presidential election to date, find some escape in my astronomy blogs. They will focus on stargazing and star-lore. My goal is to bring the stars and sky into your daily life.

Look up; the stars are grounding.

Sort:  

Not just Ancient People. As recently as the 90s, I encountered a group of "campesinos" (farmers) in a remote area of Colombia who refused to take me to a fishing hole at night because the full moon was out. They believed they would become "alunados", or mooned. And I don't mean someone pulling their pants down!

Also, next week will be excellent Astronomy time. The Perseids are back!!!

That's a great story. I wonder if these campesinos have retained their use of the moon in timing the planting and sowing of their crops?

Thanks for the Perseids reminder! If you hadn't told me, I bet online news outlets would have mentioned it. I don't have any tangible evidence, but it seems like astronomical interest has been growing in the last few years.

These "campesinos" were more livestock ranchers than planters of crops, but I am sure the little planting they do is tightly linked to phases of the moon and time of year and all that. This region in Colombia has no seasons to speak of, other than a dry and a rainy one. Nothing like what we'd call Winter, so they can really plant year round, with some care to avoid doing improper things during that rainy season I mentioned.

And the Perseids, yes, I try to keep abreast of things like that. I enjoy lying outside on my lawn, with a blanket, and staring up into infinity as I watch shooting stars go by. I'll say that, yes, interest in Astronomy is on the rise. People are starting to look up again...

Congratulations @egathedragon! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @egathedragon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36