Crossfire between Turkish and Dutch elections

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Crossfire between Turkish and Dutch elections


Steem used to be an uncensored, decentralized platform - until Justin Sun bought Steemit and used its stake to become a dictator, handpicking the witnesses, censoring posts and stealing balances. That's why I removed this post and started blogging on Hive. You can still read all my posts there.



Sort:  

I'm a German but a few years ago my retired mother married a Dutch man from Groeningen so I'm somewhat interested in Dutch politics. He asked me which party I would vote if I could and I said maybe the Libertarian Party and he hadn't heard about it. But I'm not really sure if I would vote for them because I know that they will only receive a few thousand votes and no seat while the classical liberal party VNL can receive a seat.
I read that you like Austin Petersen and he also represents most of my political values and so I wanted to ask someone with a simular view but a deeper insight into Dutch politics what you think about the VNL. :)

Indeed, the chances of the Libertarian Party winning seat(s) is very low. But VNL is not polled at seat(s) either. My suggestion would be: vote for Forum Voor Democratie (FVD), lead by Thierry Baudet. It is classical-liberal, wants to cut taxes and red tape. In my opinion, it is even more libertarian than VNL. And it has one seat in the polls.

Interesting comment! I could write three blogs about that. I'm not an objective source though. I used to be friendly with LP members and visited their events without being a member. The whole party could fit into a classroom. The new VNL leader Jan Roos, on the other hand, humiliated me on national radio after interviewing me about a book I wrote. I wouldn't have minded as much if it had been during the interview, but no, he sucked up to me while we were talking. Anyway, making fun of people was what he did, on TV as well as radio. A shock jock doesn't seem to be a great figurehead for 'Dutch values'.

I agree that VNL has a better chance to win a seat than the LP. In a right-leaning Libertarian group on Facebook, almost everybody got VNL as the #1 result in an online vote quiz.

That sounds like some serious character flaws for a politician and thats even deeper insight than I thought. Thank you for that! :)
I found two chapters from your book on Yindo.nl but my dutch isn't good enough for understanding most of it. ;)

That was certainly a more detailed report, and I agree on the facts. But things have changed since two years ago. Turkey has become much more repressive, and due to the European history that Erdogan referred to, very few people in the Netherlands support freedom of assembly for enemies of freedom.

And Turkey has been meddling in our internal affairs for years. The Turkish Ministry of Religion (Diyanet) controls what is preached in 145 mosques in the Netherlands, and the Turkish government actively tries to prevent the Turkish-Dutch community from integrating into Dutch society.

As a Dutch: thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84