First they came for the workers in the poppy fields... I didn't care I didn't work in a poppy field

in #politics8 years ago

First they came for the workers in the poppy fields, and I did not speak out
Because I did not work in the poppy fields...
Then they came for those standing on top of the oil fields, and I did not speak out
Because I was nowhere near an oil field...
Then they came for those with what they perceived as rags on their head, and I did not speak out
Because I wore nothing on my head...
Then they came for those who had no central bank, and I did not speak out
Because my country has a central bank...
Then they came for those who publicly disagree, and I did not speak out
Because I am rarely out in public...
Next they came for those who report a government crime, and I did not speak out
Because I do not work in the government...
Then they came for those who post on social media, use blockchains, and own guns
On that day there was no excuse left, is there an excuse for you?

Inspired by the works of Martin Niemöller regarding WW2 and the holocaust.

Sort:  

So beautiful in image and flow. Perfectly put!

Thank you. I felt the sudden urge and it couldn't be resisted. This was the result.

It is really very good, keep up thought provoking prose!

My other account is where I tend to stick to the poetry and such. It was a toss up to do this here, or do it on my other. Thanks again.

Smaller audience... trying to confine that account to 100% poetry and prose. It makes it challenging. I also am very long winded. It seems to help with that.

https://steemit.com/@chaospoet

Steemit will definitely get their attention. I bet the politicians are peeing in their pants when they will realize that steemit is uncensorable, they wont hijack this as they did with mainstream social media.

They could take down steemit.com as that is centralized but it is simply a web page displaying the block chain and it is open sourced, so mirrors, and different views to the blockchain could quickly spring up. I also suspect we'll have other portals besides steemit that display the information differently that also tie into the blockchain. This is pretty revolutionary.

Yea just backup your posting keys and it should be fine.

Protesting in the poppy fields?

I think that would be a first...

Heheh... being a smart ass... we invade Afghanistan which has largest Poppy fields which means a large portion of Heroin and such are produced thanks to those fields. You'd think that Heroin production would be down. It actually is at record highs. It's almost as if someone wanted to insure the flow of these drugs.... wink

Where did I put that damn tinfoil faraday cage lined hat?

Well said! Damn Americans (Yes, I'm an American and a combat vet!). Here in the U.S. our government and politicians give us this facade that we are free but yet we have this policy known as "The War on Drugs." What a bunch of bullshit! Most of our prison systems are private corporations which are filled with non-violent offenders (Drugs). Our government distributes these drugs into our poor communities which leads to impoverishment/misery/violence/death/and incarceration. Then, we tell the American people that we are going to fight a war on terrorism in Afghanistan (again...a manufactured big fat lie) (check out the book "Crossing the Rubicon"). Then within a few short years after our invasion in Afghanistan Heroin makes a comeback and the market is flooded with Heroin with record highs. Put 2 and 2 together America and you will see that we the People of the U.S. are being mislead. But hell....what the fuck do I know? I do know this....I'm awake and not some Zombie that has their head buried in shit.

I am glad to hear it. If we open our eyes and stop taking everything we are told as indisputable fact the fog begins to clear, and you start noticing how many things just don't look/seem right.

Connections like with the Heroin where if we were actually doing what the "rhetoric" claims it should have been reduced. Yet we have record highs.

So many people don't know a lot about the prison industry. I mentioned quite a bit that you were hinting at in a post of mine. I'd be interested if you have anything to add (this is an older post)

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@dwinblood/word-hijacking-the-study-based-battle-for-control-of-our-minds

EDIT: Just for clarification. I live in Colorado, so yes I am an American too.

Hey I agree, take my upvote. The truth is plain to see once you reveal the beneficiaries of any intentional crisis.
can We stop using the word "We" to describe the actions of our government or criminal cartels? I know that I am not a part of getting heroin into the hands of these dealers, other than knowingly funding their organization through taxes. This corruption kills innocent people everywhere, but it weighs the heaviest on the hearts of Americans who know that they are supporting blatant hypocrisy but cannot leave. These drugs cause many deaths as well. America is a very unhappy country with one of the highest suicide rates in the world that does not even include overdoses.
Over 50,000 people die at there own hands here every year, you could argue their reasons or ideologies but the only existing truth is that they could not see a future for themselves here. If you are antigovernment, depressed, and suicidal the least you can do is give all your money and property to worthy causes before you do it otherwise the state and often your employer if you have one, is going to collect on their bet of your premature death and further fund criminal enterprise with their winnings.

I left a reply on your Hijacking post. Well done...you are a citizen that is awake and not buying into the propaganda machine. Keep doing what you are doing so that more minds can be awaken!

I thought I should add. I did not say they were coming for protestors. I said they came for those in the poppy fields.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48