The Turbulence of Politics and The Desire to Find Peace and Quiet in a Noisy Chaotic World

in #politics7 years ago

As of late, I have increasingly been wanting to crawl into a hole and hide... a sense of overwhelm from many directions has been "triggering" my tendency to back away from life and become an observer.

When I was a little kid, my mother-- an extreme extravert and social butterfly-- was eternally trying to "get me involved" in all sorts of things. I expect it was extraordinarily frustrating for her that I was always trying to undo her efforts, seeking instead a place where I could just sit and stare into space. Doing nothing was one of my favorite things.

Early Days... 

BigSur
Big Sur, CA... the fog rolls in

I was generally a very calm child-- in fact, calm to such a degree that various members of our extended family (who liked to think themselves "experts" on such matters) were seriously concerned that I was... "developmentally challenged."

"Little boys should be running around, getting into things, rough housing and making noise!" was the prevailing school of thought, and the fact that I was poster boy for the exact opposite was a cause for concern.

I have, at times, entertained the possibility that I was "wired incorrectly" from nature's side, because my inner reward system (in the neuroscientific sense) almost inevitably seems to issue "good feelings" when I am in a stationary and largely serene state, and more of an "aversion warning" for most things that involve activity, engagement and particularly strife and confrontations.

To the observer describing me in layman's terms, that pretty much adds up to "exceptionally lazy." Or possibly "avoidant." But those are hopelessly inadequate terms, generally filtered through the eyes of a world obsessed with action, movement, aggression and busy-ness. 

So where am I going with all this? 

As I said, I have lately been feeling particularly overwhelmed and inclined to crawl into a hole. It's hard for me to put my finger on anything specific-- politics, wars, death of friends, a suicide, a background sense of anger in the world, the world's lost ability to "dialogue" rather than "bicker."

Rocks
Balancing rocks in the river

A friend stopped by the gallery today and suggested that I simply lack "civic stamina." As I considered this, I've concluded that my feelings are really independent of political alignments and outcomes-- I find that the most distressing about current US and World Politics is that it seems to personify the vileness, reactivity and violence of (much of) human nature.

And so, I feel increasingly estranged from this strange species that seems to prefer violence, fighting, condemning and mudslinging to civilized discussion and connecting across common ground to find peaceful solutions and compromises all can live with. 

This whole "MY way or you are EVIL/STUPID and must DIE!" approach that seems to have become so prevalent feels like a sad and pathetic throwback to primitive feudal times. Have we learned nothing at all? 

Of course, there are those who hold that those were the "good times," and that compromise and bridge-building represent a form of weakness and cultural decay... and they hold that totalitarianism and nationalism are good things. And patriotic, to boot. 

Meanwhile, on the Way to Mars

Evening
Evening on Flathead Lake, Montana

There's something slightly ironic about the fact that while we remain embroiled in petty bickering and personal pissing matches worthy of the middle ages... we are sending rockets to Mars.

I'm slowly beginning to understand the views of those who insist we have no business exploring the Universe till we figure out how to live peacefully with each other, here on Planet Earth.

On the other hand, part of me can appreciate the frustrations of the so-called "patriots"... all the political correctness and underhanded spewage of certain political factions are quite loathsome, but I still can't get myself to a place of understanding how attempts to dial back the cultural clock 400 years is in any way useful. 

Let's face it... if a system of strong nationalism, kingdoms, strong rulers and armies and serfs and killing those who disagree with us actually had worked... wouldn't that system still be here, as the dominant form of social and political governing? Why would those who started what is now the USA have broken away from the British, in the first place? What is all this fighting good for?  

Creek
Peaceful creek view

But I am digressing.... "good" is such a nebulous concept and-- at best-- a slippery slope towards contemplating how life is viewed through each individual's experiential lens of perception. Lot of potential navel gazing there.

I don't really care very much about the seemingly endless semantic and intellectual masturbation happening all around us... what concerns me is that we seem to-- here in freakin' 2018-- have returned to some version of the middle ages and a bunch of (metaphorically speaking) "villagers with pitchforks"  are rioting, albeit "2018-style."

The thing about "villagers with pitchforks" is that they seem to be driven entirely by their emotions and reactivity, not by a sense of logic, nor meaningful objectives, nor reason or desire to live peacefully. And there's an attached irony there... in that a very large percentage of the "protesting villagers" who chose a new "king" will likely be the ones most hurt and left behind by the very "king" they elected. 

Oddly enough, it is one of the things my friend-- whose political views are somewhere to the right of Attila the Hun-- and I tend to agree on. We're going to get nowhere, as long as everyone keeps reacting and spewing canned doctrines that don't involve actual critical thinking and reasoning out how things work, in the functional sense of the concept. That's why we are friends. Because even though we are polar opposites, we talk and understand, rather than react and sling mud.

Meanwhile, I watch good honest people continue to "block" or "unfriend" or "mute" those who disagree with their views, as if the time honored practice of sticking one's head in the sand somehow is the best approach to solving our collective problems.

Just saw it happen again on Farcebook, which is how this post came into being. Someone who had long been giving Donald Trump credit for the rising stock market turned right around and blamed Obama for the market's two-day drop. The faulty logic was truly breathtaking.

I popped some popcorn and watched... and then got very sad.

What do YOU think? Are we losing the ability to "dialogue" and debate issues, in favor of partisan reactivity? Regardless of your political affiliation, what about compromises? Is it a good idea to fight and try to eliminate those who "don't think like us" (whoever "us" may be, in your perception)? If you believe "dissenters should be executed," are you also OK with YOU being executed if you are perceived by others as a dissenter? Is representative government a crock because nobody can represent us except ourselves? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

Animated banner created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180209 00:20 PST

Sort:  

People are often so ignorant and cruel and these days everyone is an expert on everything, because we all have technology at our fingertips. It is ridiculous really. It is attitudes and perspectives like this that create precisely what you have described.

I think that whether you agree or disagree with what somebody has to say, you can still respect their right to their own thought processes and choices. When people try to FORCE their opinions and beliefs onto others then they have lost the plot, because I will put money on the fact that they absolutely would NOT tolerate it in return - which makes them a complete hypocrite...

People need to learn a little (or perhaps a lot) more "acceptance" in general...

Yes, I understand consciously removing yourself from toxic situations or conversations that are intentionally unfolding to hurt or break you down, but someone expressing their views is an entirely different thing... and how you handle / react to that is what makes the difference... good or bad!

@jaynie, you touch on something that's perhaps the single biggest hindrance to discussion: This strange (false) "expectation" that when someone has established an opinion, they get to beat other people over the head with it until there is agreement. Well, belittling and ostracizing those who disagree with you is not how you build consensus.

That doesn't mean that we don't get to maintain healthy personal boundaries; as you said, we can remove ourselves from toxic situations. But we also get to ask ourselves WHAT exactly offends us so deeply about someone else that we won't even listen to them.

PRECISELY @denmarkguy :) Except you said it so much better than I did! hahahaha ;)

Oh, @denmarkguy, as I feel it, your mother has intentionally supported your activity using a kinf of an alternative approach. I've heard the term ambivert describing a similar behaviour.

Have we learned nothing at all? - yes, we have not and things are going worse.

We will be figuring out how to live peacefully with each other, here on Planet Earth until the very last moment and if there was a way I would bet all my money on that.

But there's a hope. There's always a hope and I feel that at least a little piece of our hearts will always feel that.

I don't really care very much about the seemingly endless semantic and intellectual masturbation happening all around us... what concerns me is that we seem to-- here in freakin' 2018-- have returned to some version of the middle ages and a bunch of (metaphorically speaking) "villagers with pitchforks" are rioting, albeit "2018-style." - absolute gold here.

Thank you for all those questions... I've never blocked anyone - including people who have cursed me in the chat. It's not a solution. Al Pachino once said it:

That's a team, gentlemen
and either we heal now, as a team,
or we will die as individuals.

I believe that what will make a real difference is our own attitude towards others. No matter what models of behaviour we are shown to stand firmly and focus on what's really important. I won't expand this comment and explain what is really important for me, but this conversation is definitely worth participating in.

Thanks!

Maybe it is an inherent part of human nature that we tend to be (spiritually) lazy until we reach a make-or-break moment where we have no choice but to act. The theological term "acedia" comes to mind; meaning a sort of "spiritual sloth." That is, we avoid the sort of self-inquiry that might guide us in favor of "quick and easy" stimulation from external "popular" and "easy" sources. It allows us to remain in a sort of "trance" or "sleep."

Making a difference is about waking up and simply becoming active participants in our own existence.

Very well explained. I need to read more about "acedia".

As usual, outstanding post.
The impression I have is that human behavior has not changed, period.
We try different forms of government, different media forums. I believe the only thing that changes over time is technology. I embrace that. Maybe the growth that is most important is individual. Do we really need to , can we really , change as a society? Human behavior is so predictable, good as well as bad, both can be found in almost any situation not controlled by a powerful agenda. But powerful agenda's are numerous. There are way to many people , not sure of themselves, that need to follow a voice louder than their own. That need to feel right.
This is corny, but a quote I heard from Dr.Phil is so wise, yet so hard for many to accept. "Would you rather be happy...or right?" A question I ask myself but cannot answer is ...what parts of being totally human do we have to give up in order to get along peacefully.
I would appreciate hearing your opinion.

Thanks for the thoughtful response!

Indeed, human behavior does not seem to have changed much; perhaps the problem is that WE are responsible for changing our behavior-- there is no "it." And so "it" (changes) only happen as a result of more and more people waking up and realizing that WE make the changes; we can't rely on others to do so, for us.

Many moons ago, one of my spiritual Teachers taught me to ask myself (and others) the root question of "What will you HAVE, when _____ happens?"

What will you HAVE, when everyone else thinks like you?
What will you HAVE, when you have a new Mercedes, or a mansion?
What will you HAVE, when everyone is of the same religion as you?

Most of the time, the deeper answers to those questions-- if we really take the time to sit with them-- puts us in touch with some of our less attractive fears and biases. After which we can move on and not be so scared by them.

What part of being human do you have to give up? None. All we have to give up is our own requirements that our opinions and feelings and thoughts only have validity when others agree with them.

At least that's my perspective. Your mileage may vary!

What will you HAVE, when everyone else thinks like you?
What will you HAVE, when you have a new Mercedes, or a mansion?
What will you HAVE, when everyone is of the same religion as you?

Well, without put much thought on these questions, I would dare to say: ¡BOREDOM! :)

I have to take a little time and consider what I am hearing you say.

Do you think we are born with that requirement, or is it taught to us by our parents and society?

Leave it to doctor Phil to dictate your framing. Why not have it both ways! Let’s be happy and right!

I think a lot has changed but patterns run DEEP because no matter what kind of culture we create, it will always be influenced by what came before. Seeds are planted and grow all the time, but it takes a lot to grow into a forest.

I think it makes sense to let go of the "need" to be right. Letting go of defensiveness, feeling okay with being wrong opens the door to actual changes in my behavior and attitudes.

Recognizing "family rules" can be extremely hard, letting go of them even harder.

I suppose I’m just being an ass and misinterpreting dr. Phil because I don’t like his face. You are right. :-)

...:)...., let's be happy (right or wrong) sharing this amazing life experience.

Not to give any fuel to the ego, but could it just be that you are slightly more advanced and balanced than the masses expect any of us to be? They certainly don’t set the bar very high. It’s funny how it’s considered an illness or disorder to be more in tune with nature and harmony than the cries of the masses, social media celebrities and “baby baby baby oh!”

You sound perfectly fine to me, but then again, I’m a fellow “defect”. It sounds like you need a community, one that you Can easily relate to, and hopefully not only online. Do you have that at all?

The bar is often low, and the infamous "they" would like to keep it that way because a conscious and critically thinking populace is always a danger to the status quo, particularly if that status quo revolves around maintaining control and restricting others for the benefit of "those in charge."

So we're stuck in this construct where "the easy way out" is facilitated by the system and the "difficult" (or "thinking") way out is actively discouraged.

I'm not so worried about having a community as I am worried about the bigger picture. The bigger picture, as in our collective path forward as a species. I fear we won't progress as a whole if pop culture is allowed to rule... a few will advance, and the rest will become mindless wage slaves.

The reason I bring up community is because it keeps us sane and empowered and looking towards more proactive outlets than participating in or debating within the confines of the pop culture. I have my community in another city. I go to visit them as frequently as I can. Still trying to build one where I live but until then it’s steemit.

Nicely written and a topic that's been very much on my mind and in my own writing as well. We see this chaoticness manifesting itself in many different problematic trends, societal tendencies and cultural practices. I am not sure how to resolve it but it certainly occupies my thoughts. :/ Upvoted and have a great day @denmarkguy :)

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@kobiespriggs/hero-worship-and-cultural-consumption-sparagmos-and-omophagia

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@kobiespriggs/forgotten-nuances-the-false-dilemma-and-the-benefits-of-slow-thinking

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@kobiespriggs/limits-of-conversation-and-the-subsequent-rise-of-the-sophist-logos-ethos-and-pathos

Thanks Kobie; just trying to sort through some thoughts and flailing around a bit trying to find a "direction" for this blog... bumped my head against this seeming chasm between "what's popular" and "what's meaningful."

I'll follow up with some reading later-- thanks!

I shared them so you can see you aren't the only one feeling this way!

I pitched meno my idea of The Atheist/Theist Dialogues​ but it was a no go. He's not the only one that's said no....This divide is also, in part, an aspect of the political climate. Yup, it would be good to just talk, listen, respond....repeat, without getting all bent out of shape.

There's a lot of fear out there... and it seems like one of the greatest fears is that of having an insight that might cause us to change perspective. There was a phrase often used in Texas politics when I lived down there: "Don't confuse me with the facts when my mind is already made up!" It sort of seems to apply here... to some agree; people shut themselves OUT so as to not be exposed to the possibility that they might learn something new....

Hi, I'll let Lakoff speak for me:
ARGUMENT IS WAR
Your claims are indefensible.
He attacked every weak point in my argument. His criticisms were right on target.
I demolished his argument.
I've never won an argument with him.
You disagree? Okay, shoot!
If you use that strategy, he'll wipe you out. He shot down all of my arguments.
It is important to see that we don't just talk about arguments in terms of war. We can actually win or lose arguments. We see the person we are arguing with as an opponent. We attack his positions and we defend our own. We gain and lose ground. We plan and use strategies. If we find a position indefensible, we can abandon it and take a new line of attack. Many of the things we do in arguing are partially structured by the concept of war. Though there is no physical battle, there is a verbal battle, and the structure of an argument—attack, defense, counterattack, etc.—reflects this. It is in this sense that the ARGUMENT IS WAR metaphor is one that we live by in this culture; it structures the actions we perform in arguing.
Try to imagine a culture where arguments are not viewed in terms of war, where no one wins or loses, where there is no sense of attacking or defending, gaining or losing
((5))
ground. Imagine a culture where an argument is viewed as a dance, the participants are seen as performers, and the goal is to perform in a balanced and aesthetically pleasing way. In such a culture, people would view arguments differently, experience them differently, carry them out differently, and talk about them differently. But we would prob- ably not view them as arguing at all: they would simply be doing something different. It would seem strange even to call what they were doing "arguing." Perhaps the most neutral way of describing this difference between their culture and ours would be to say that we have a discourse form structured in terms of battle and they have one structured in terms of dance.

every picture in this post is very nice.
i have all picture.

really interesting blog thanks @denmarkguy for shareing sir

excellent post ..loving to your blog.thanks for sharing..

Have you read Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking? It is an excellent book that helped me understand a bit about what is changing in the way our society communicates and why I hate it so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76