You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mandate for Freedom: Universal Basic Income

in #politics8 years ago

I generally support the idea of UBI... its potential to serve as a sort of "safety net" actually bodes well for production/output, as well.

If I know that I am going to have some of my basic expenses covered every month, I am more likely to pursue opportunities I want to rather than because I have to, simply in order to make money. There is a plethora of things people can do--which contribute to society/the economy-- that currently are left undone simply because the economics don't work.

Of course, one of the side effects might be more decentralization away from large corporate structures (I'm thinking like an entrepreneur, of course) towards individual business projects... countering what I tend to call "The WalMart Effect" (the disappearance of the esoteric in large organizations because such things are lower profit/resource intensive).

Sort:  

This is the only reason I see to support UBI over all other forms of social safety net. I'll be interested to see what Finland does with their current experiment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68559.31
ETH 2695.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73