You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: UK PM Triggers Article 50 to Leave the EU - Why I'm Positive About It

in #politics7 years ago

Well, I'm a Brit living currently living in mainland Europe. I was surprised by the outcome of the referendum, but I must say that I was not horrified by it. The result showed that (by a slim majority) British people want to be "British" or that they are unhappy with the EU. I don't know why no one seems to understand this. Nationality brings a sense of belonging to many people in many different ways and being a member of the EU is not serving these needs. I believe that the result of the referendum is the EU's fault - transparency and true democracy have never been a true focus.
Is this a "bad" result? Yes and No.
Bad because we may see changes in our Human Rights laws. We may not be able to travel or work abroad in Europe so easily; the "connection" that we have built up with our EU partners will be lost; a collective purpose will, at the very least, be watered down.
Good because Nationality IS important and in so many ways.
I would have accepted the result of the referendum either way. Why can't everyone else?

Sort:  

Great points. I'm not sure why people aren't accepting it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36