Youtube rising hero Barbara4u2c discusses "#freethenipple"

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

While Barbara comes at it from a different angle, she reaches a similar conclusion to the conclusion I reached in my post: "Do social norms trump the law? | My response to the "Free The Nipple" controversy".

But I think she misses the strategic significance of this particular issue. While she identified that it's not the social norm for guys or girls to be topless in public, at the same time the deeper issue which I identified is that obscenity itself is what the social norm is about. According to the community definition, it is considered "obscene" for women to be topless and this much is clear, but is it obscene for men to be topless? It is possible the community could decide it's only obscene for women to be topless and that a social norm could put more of a burden on women than on men.

And why is this? Social norms being community defined, they are not always rational. It's actually just about accommodating to and acquiescing to the feelings of a collective group of people who enforce the social norm often through law, but also through coordinated shunning and extra judicial means when law doesn't go far enough.

It is by this reasoning that I reached my conclusion that social norms trump the power of the law.

Sort:  

Let's say NO to discrimination! My opinion that all girls should be allowed to stay topless everywhere ;D

Just girls? Or can mature women with real bodies also walk around topless?

Mature women are girls for me too, since I'm old enough ;D

I'm always FOR freeing the nipple!

the most sensual part of a woman 's breasts are , it's a seduction weapon. women free breasts , no longer have a piece of seduction .

The best seduction arises from the mind, spirit and heart--not the body. By objectifying our bodies, you limit us as self-actualizing people. Most of us don't walk around using our "seductive" breasts in order to lure in hapless males. That's a myth that young or ignorant men choose to believe.

My nipples are free! But I will not let them leave me.

I watched the video for about 5 seconds and enjoyed what you wrote more ...

Interesting. I think there is a big difference about the context of where the toplessness occurs. There are times when neither male nor female toplessness should be acceptable.

I personally feel people should be able to be topless regardless of their sex. I don't think it's wise for women to be topless in certain areas for their own safety. Men's toplessness is not treated sexually for the most part but women's most certainly is.

I think there is more outrage about not being able to do something that someone else has the ability to do freely, but once it is legal to do this anywhere it will become a non issue. Men do not really have the ability to dress provocatively (for the most part), but women most certainly can. If they want the freedom to go topless wherever they want, they should realize that there will most likely be staring, unwanted advances and increased sexual harassment / assault. This is not to take blame away from those who do this, but is just the reality of the facts. Men tend to be very visually wired and this would be another visual stimulant to add to the multitude of others that currently exist.

Free the nipple, but don't complain about the unwanted attention.

haha free nipple! :) i followed you perhaps u look at my blog and u find some graffiti that u like! <3 kalipo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56