Apple reports 400 percent rise in national security requests

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

400% increase in national security requests to Apple from the US government

Apple Computer Logo rainbow
By Rob Janoff [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

The company stated it received more than 13,250 national security requests affecting over 9,000 accounts in the first half of 2017. Compared to the same period in 2015, this represents a threefold increase.

Perhaps in an indirect way this ties into the Net Neutrality post I made previous. Apparently national security requests to Apple alone have increased by 400% so this reveals that the US government is becoming more interested in the online activities of Apple users. Typically national security letters are sent to companies and these companies by law must comply with the US government if they have a technical capability of doing so.

Studying trend stats can allow users to know what the government is focused on, interested in, and even give hints to the reasons why. North Korea for example has cyber capabilities and the US government most likely sees a treat from North Korea, as does China and other countries. Money laundering in particular is one threat that governments have to be concerned about primarily because North Korea has a weapons program which it wants to fund, and because there are now aggressive sanctions against North Korea.

Of course I could be reading into this too much so if you think I've got it all wrong feel free to post and show me.

References

  1. https://thenextweb.com/insider/2017/09/29/apple-reports-400-percent-rise-in-national-security-requests/#.tnw_5YMw7pvI
Sort:  

perhaps the united states empire will feel less threatened if it stopped assaulting and destroying the world.

thanks for the information, very interesting :)

Thank you friends, posting / information from today is amazing

Apple is doing some new crazy things which I think is not fair . Like if you update your phone and you use a fake charger , it won't charge your phone and so much other things which I find unfair because they just want everyone to buy from them only

Omg...really... with the charger? They'll stop at nothing.
Little things too. Like on my iPod touch... used to just be able to search my song but now... I have to choose 'my music' everytime I do a search intead of searching 'Apple music' which it's set to by default. Frig off apple. This sort of stuff is whats prevented me from going with iPhone as a smartphone. Granted I have that iPod touch and like Mac OS but yeah. Wish they didn't try so hard to pinch every penny. They are great at making money though thats for sure 🤣 But at the end of the day that stuff is never good for the customer like with the charger or the search in iOS music...

The govt. got no chill but want to get into everything from now one thanks for sharing this article !!

Informative post..thanks for sharing..

I've migrated from Gmail and Hangouts to end-to-end encrypted services such as ProtonMail and Signal. NSA isn't my primary reason for this move, it's rather that I prefer not having all my emails and messages read by others, like a Google does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55