Patreon Bans Lauren Southern

in #politics7 years ago

I just watched this video by Lauren Southern about how she was kicked off of Patreon, eliminating most of her income in one fell swoop. If I were running Patreon, a person would have to be pretty damn evil to get kicked off. This was clearly political. Normally I shy away from politics, but this is ridiculous. From what I've seen in Lauren's videos, she is a nice person.

This tragedy cries out for a solution! I'm sure Lauren will find a way to get her funding back, eventually. Personally, I think that the world needs some sort of decentralized crowd funding site. Maybe there are solutions already out there (I haven't checked yet). Let me know what you think.

Sort:  

This is probably a good thing. We need to be centralizing around decentralized crowd funding (if that makes sense). The sooner platforms like Patreon show their power, the sooner people will realize that we cannot afford to keep giving it to them. Suggesting for your next blog post: what's out there for decentralized crowd funding, how do they work, which one seems best right now? As for Lauren, maybe we can start some support for her on one of these channels?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52