You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thailand to require health insurance for 1-year visa extensions

in #politics5 years ago

The way you explain it your theory makes sense. As an outsider looking in i would have thought any person on a visa would need to have health insurance to cover anything anyway. I was looking at Malta and they require by law that if you come to live they demand that you have a policy to cover themselves from your costs.

Sort:  

yes, i can see that side of things for sure but here is the thing: Health care in this country is NOT expensive except for very awful situations like needing brain surgery and what not. To put it in perspective: I broke 3 bones in my foot in a motorcycle crash something like 10 years ago - between the x-rays, the cast, the pills, the everything from start to finish, at the nicest hospital that they had in Krabi, i had to pay around $150 total from start-to-finish.

All of these expats that they are targeting (well i suppose I can't speak for everyone) can handle these sorts of expenses and the new rule wouldn't apply to anyone on a tourist visa anyway - which is a vast majority of the travelers here.

I would say we can probably look for them to introduce that into their future plan after they implement this stage :(

I found Malta more expensive to live in than what London was.

That is interesting to know as I have been looking at Malta. I never knew this and will have too do some more homework.

In Europe if you want to be by the sea side and live there for more than a few months, I would pick Croatia even if I haven't been there yet 🤪

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69