Human Government: Yet Another Epic FailsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics8 years ago

All He Wants to Do is Build a Couple of Houses...

Today I was driving along a local street where I'd seen some earth moving going on in days gone by.

A Home

All He Wants is to Build A Couple of These
Photo courtesy of Inspiration de and http://unsplash.com

I noticed a couple of porta-pottys and a big banner displayed there. I didn't have time to stop right then, but on my way home I did take the time to stop and take this photo:

City Oppression

City Oppression: My Original Photo, hosted courtesy of http://imgsafe.org

Here's what the banner (which may be hard to read, especially on a phone) says:

"I intended to build 2 custom homes here, but after the City of Escondido makes me do all their undisclosed improvements to Nutmeg St., I only have enough money left over to build these! The City of Escondido really knows how to ruin people's property value. Just look at the Escondido Country Club!"

The mannequins alongside the outhouses, and their speech balloons, add to the story:

*"Welcome home, Dear. How do you feel?"

"Pooped"

and

*"Oh, my god, what happened to you?!"

"I went to the City of Escondido Engineering Department."

I haven't spoken with the builder or anyone else to discover more details, but what do you think?

Should a city government be able to demand huge sums of money for city improvements before "permitting" a property owner to build?

Please comment below.

For a topical index to many of my other interesting articles, CLICK HERE


Did you enjoy this post?

Follow me, I'm creatr

bluebutton

Sort:  

I don't know what's worse - scorching the builder at the beginning, or the property tax payers afterwards. We paid through the nose for a new house only to find we were being assessed at the market value rate, but the actual resale property value was $25,000. lower. Most municipalities here set assessment values much lower than the market value of the house. So, you can get burned either way.

It's all bad, IMHO...

Property tax is a fundamental evil on the face of the earth...
But sometime I'll tell you how I really feel about it! ;)

Well, it's been known that the government can be a big bum sometimes...

Thanks for stopping by and commenting...

If, by "sometimes" you mean pretty much 100% of the time, yeah... ;)

i can't wait until every government employee everywhere in the world is eating dog food in a ditch

Well (as emotionally gratifying as that image may be, and it is,) I think I'd rather have them exercising whatever humanity they have remaining to create something of positive value in the world. ;)

Thanks for stopping by and commenting! :)

i agree with you. i just don't think they all have it in them.

Yep, the Left Coast... :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63862.88
ETH 2754.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64