You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Government Is Euphemism

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

Very eye opening article. I've slowly been getting more and more disillusioned with those in positions of authority, as I think many American have (and those in other countries as well). I often think about what "free country" really means, and the more and more I think about this principle the more I begin to think that "free country" is actually an oxymoron.

For example, let's look at the whole "National Anthem" business that is going on in the sports world right now. So they don't want to stand for the National Anthem? What's the problem? As a veteran who fought for this country, you would think that I would have the exact opposite feeling about it, but I don't. The reason is that the whole point of fighting for this country was to make sure that people had the right to decide not to stand for the National Anthem if they don't want to. I mean, it is supposed to be a "free country," isn't it?

If we start dragging people off the field and arresting them for not standing for the National Anthem, then we are no better than a dictatorship. Free country... I don't know anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79