“Wisdom of the American People”

in #politics6 years ago (edited)

I voted in an election for the first time in 1972 Nixon was running against someone who lost. I have noticed that most of the presidents have spoken about accepting “the wisdom of the American people”. After witnessing the feckless performance of Barack Obama and the decisions he made that were completely devoid of common sense and was still elected to a second term, in my opinion, the wisdom of the American people had become a thing of the past. However, as I watch the restoration of the USA to a constitutional republic from the Banana Republic that Obama left us with, my faith in my fellow countrymen is returning. The wisdom of the American people took flight once before when we allowed liberals to treat returning Vietnam War veterans like social pariahs. I was one of those vets. I held a grudge for many years. To this day, if I hear someone say we “lost” the Vietnam War, I am immediately in their face lecturing them that we did not lose that war, we quit. There is a difference! I also tell them that fighting for the freedom of the Vietnamese people is the most noble and unselfish thing I have done in my life.

The frustration I feel today is due to the actions by liberals to poison the minds of others with hate-filled, wild-eyed tyrades against President Trump. The treatment of people wearing a “Make America Great Again” hats reminds me of the treatment of anyone wearing a military uniform in the early 1970’s which I personally experienced first hand. We have hate laws that cover certain acts of racism, but I don’t understand why they do not extend to acts of hate toward others because of the clothing they wear. I’m so sick of hatred so flagrantly displayed either by mindless rants, bald-face lies in the news media, over-the-top grievances responding to trivial events, when the hell will “cooler heads prevail”. One thing that would help is if the Attorney General would get a spine and begin crackdowns on violence promoting organizations like Black Lives Matter and ANTIFA. I don’t understand why hateful people are given an opportunity to act out.

soldiers-1010631_960_720.jpg

Sort:  

It is noble to fight communism. A constant battle against bad ideas.

I could not agree more!

I commend you Chuck for your service and in comparing it to the current hatred we see all day long, every day since Trump was duly elected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94