Retirement Age Increase Protests

in #politics6 years ago

How is it that some politicians can't do simple math. Russia's retirement ages for women is currently 55 and for men 60. What the hell did you think would happen with retirement at such a young age. Do all liberals funk math?

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/sep/02/thousands-protest-in-russia-against-plans-to-hike-retirement-age

Sort:  

Well, up until fairly recently (as of the late 90s), the life expectancy was 60 years for a man, and 65 years for a woman in Russia. So, under those circumstances, that retirement age policy is not so unreasonable. But now that their economy is recovering, and Russia is moving toward a moderate capitalist system, life expectancy is rising.

We're going to face the same thing here with social security. People are living into their 80s here, on average. Frankly, we already should have increased the retirement age to 70 or even 75.

I retired at 66 years and 8 months old. I regret it. I should have worked another few years maybe to 70. I miss being relevant. I had a stroke this past May which I don't think would have happened if I was still working.

I'm sorry to hear that. I hope you've recovered ok. But regardless of your age, your body will start killing you if you aren't engaged in something meaningful. This is as true at 20 as at 80, although the older you are the more quickly you can tell. I can't stress this enough, sir. You have to find something meaningful to engage in. It's as important as food, water, and sleep.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, I have about 95% of my life back. I volunteer at our church in a leadership role so I have that little bit of challenge. I am also into charcuterie. I've applied for an online job giving opinions on advertising. Thanks, again!

That's great! As a church goer you understand, then. We're spiritual beings. We have to have a reason to be here. If we don't, we won't be. My uncle died very young. He was divorced and out of work. He'd found another relationship, but she got cancer and died. The one thing that kept him going was taking care of his mom. Once she died, he died within a matter of months. There were physical causes, sure. But what really killed him was that he had nothing to live for, so his body just shut down. On the other hand, you have people like my other grandmother who still creates art and poetry and engages with other people on a daily basis. She's in her mid eighties, lives on her own, and is still as sharp as a tack.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the comment!

Congratulations @chuck2u32! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64