16 Years - Reflections of a New Jersey Kid Who's World Changed at 8:46 AMsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

At this time 16 years ago, I was in sophomore Theology class when we're told to go to the gym. Once there, it was announced that school would be let out because of an attack that took place in NYC. This began my journey towards informed, anti-war advocate.

Living in New Jersey, 9/11 affected me and those around me. I had friends who lost relatives. I had relatives that worked in those buildings, but weren't there that day. My cousin had to be talked out of signed up for the army. I was young at the time, but I knew that these attackers didn't "hate us for our freedom".

As the years have gone on, I tried to go to NYC each year on 9/11. I've had good experiences and bad experiences. Sometimes getting into great discussions with people about that day. Most of the time, being told I'm "disrespectful" for discussing the situation on a day like today.

The first few years I could understand, but after a decade, you would think that the people most effected by the day would be as upset as I am that the criminals that carried out the attack are still at large. But the fear has won in NYC. The police state they live under makes them feel safe, as they continue to live in their ignorance.

This is the first year in five that I have not gone to the city. That city isn't the one I grew up in. It has been invaded by police in riot gear, hipsters from across the country, and a doubled-down sense of self-importance that will lead to another attack leading to even more loss of freedom.

There are those in NYC and NJ that know the truth. That hate the wars. Who's children have died. They are not allowed to speak out. They are silenced the same way someone critical of the State of Israel is silenced for being "anti-Semitic".

The patriotism is deep in NYC. It's an amazing thing to see. True love for their home country. But that emotion has been used by disgusting politicians to gain votes and support for their policies and wars. Today we will see politicians descend on New York City, closing down bridges and roads, making it impossible for the actual people affected to show their support for the fallen, or to remember the day. These snack-oil salespeople are the scum of this world.

I will leave you with a message I post each year on 9/11, to my friends and family. To try to get them to be upset on this day for the right reasons. That their government commits a 9/11 a week in the 3rd world, and the blowback kills their family and friends:

This year let's actually try to not forgot. Maybe pay attention to the who, what, why & how for once. Let's not forget how the country & world has changed since that day. Maybe as a country we can once and for all look at the events leading up and after that day seriously so we can recognize when a tragedy like 9/11 could be coming, and also make sure we don't let the country get out control again if/when one does.

My humble opinion is that this might be more helpful then the obligatory posting of eagles, flags, "never forget", towers or the combination of the four.

Image source

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / WordPress / Patreon

Sort:  

Do you believe in the conspiracies surrounding 9/11?

Depends on the conspiracy. I believe the Saudis were involved, the Israelis were involved, and Bush had some prior knowledge. Building 7 is suspect, and the Pentagon doesn't show a plane..so.

I don't bring these up in conversation though. I discuss it within the mainstream narrative: we were attacked by Al Qeada. But I still want people to understand WHY we would be attacked, and how it was used by criminals to profit, expand power and start wars.

Never forget rip to everyone who lost their lives.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Good on you for ignoring what may or may not be "disrespectful" and speaking the truth. "That their government commits a 9/11 a week in the 3rd world, and the blowback kills their family and friends."

I am right there with you in opposing overseas interventions and in seeing the 9/11 plot for what it was. I don't know what it will take to wake people up to the truth, but being someone who resisted for more than a decade, perhaps it will only take time.

At the very least, there will eventually be a generation who is not bombarded with propaganda. When they evaluate the evidence, they will clearly see that a cover-up was involved. That much is clear no matter where you stand on who was actually complicit.

Hello! I've been selected for the "Six of the Best" contest over at the Minnows @accelerator Project!

Please give me vote here if you enjoy my work!

I enjoy your work and your untiring efforts to wake people up to the truth. Speaking of New Jersey, did you know about the CIA weapons depot? https://steemit.com/cia/@blondenfun1/the-pentagon-s-usd2-2-billion-soviet-arms-pipeline-flooding-syria

Yes. I live 20 minutes from Picatinny Arsenal.

Wow! No wonder you're awake and aware! I bet you have seen all kinds of 'goings' on over there!

Resteemed by @steemvote - send only 0.5 SBD to get your post resteemed to 1,5K follower and receive Bonus-Upvotes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78