You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Relatively Brief Recollection of Events and Experiences Responsible for Shaping My Current Political Affiliation

in #politics7 years ago

Is that the best you can do? Call me a slave and tell me my head is up my ass? I'm doing 5 things at once, and it still takes me little to no focus to put out something more cerebral than that.

You are obviously not content. If you were, you wouldn't be so driven to convert people over to your way of thinking. Have you ever taken a moment to consider that your compulsion to convert others may be a manifestation of the doubts you harbor? Do you think that successfully converting a "slave" would give you enough positive affirmation to quiet those doubts, if just for a moment? Forget it, because folks like me will always be around to remind you that your kooky beliefs are too far disconnected from reality. Even if you find more people to validate your bullshit fantasies for you, it will never be enough to erase the doubt in your true heart. I genuinely pity you.

I'm an independent entrepreneur. I have a passport. I'm a middle-aged white guy with a car and a home. There are indeed slaves in this world, but if you think that someone with this much wealth and privilege is a slave, the word slavery holds little meaning to you. It's unfortunate that people like you use that word in an improper context. It diminishes the meaning. Next time you read a story about human trafficking or prison labor, remember that folks using the word "slave" to describe people like me is part of the problem.

True progress is happening every day. There are setbacks, of course, and that can be frustrating. I'm sure I would be a lot more frustrated if I was one of these guys that was terrified at the thought of my great-grandchildren being brown-skinned homosexual stoners. No wonder they are so desperate that they take up ranks with Nazis and Confederates. They are fighting a war against progress, and it is a war they can never win. Xenophobic bigots and traditionalist dinosaurs still have the power to slow things down, but progress is still inevitable. That is the root of their fear and hatred.

I have made plenty of mistakes. I mined over 3,000 bitcoins in 2012, and I sold most of them for about $20 each. We all make mistakes. The important thing is to have the humility to admit a mistake was made. If one is self aware, they will always find ways to improve. That is how progress works. Open minded people, admitting that there is always room for improvement, are achieving far greater things than narrow-minded zealots that fear change and profess to know everything. It has always been that way, and it always will be.

Sort:  

More evidence that you don't have any reasoned arguments.

Why don't you save yourself some time and just type 'RACIST!' at everyone who tries to interact with you?

If you think the criteria you've put forward makes you free, then you are more mentally enslaved than I thought.

You keep repeating that I don't have reasoned arguments, even though I keep arguing and stating my reasons.

I didn't call you a racist, but if the shoe fits...

Yes, Having money, a home, and a passport makes me free. That's how it works here on Earth. What planet are you from?

None of what you've presented qualifies as reason.

The shoe does not fit, you wear it.

Natural rights and the responsibilities that go with them are what makes one free, not some crumbs that the establishment allows you to have as long as you are a good little slave.

If nothing I have presented qualifies as reason, why do you feel the need to respond?

I know you are, but what am I?

Natural means anything that occurs in nature. A can of high-fructose corn syrup can proclaim itself "natural" so long as the ingredients come from this planet. "Natural" is a very loaded word, and it can be twisted and re-interpreted by any idiot trying to sell poison to the unwary.

I was a soldier once. My body was the property of the government, and I had no freedom of movement or self-determination. That is the closest thing to slavery I have ever experienced, but I still wouldn't actually call it slavery. If you had any empathy or respect for the people who have been harmed by actual slavery, you would not be using that word so casually.

Everyone has their own version of what they believe to be true. Personally, I find more profound truths come from those who speak from the heart. You can believe what you want, but arrogance and ignorance go hand-in-hand. I believe compassion and humility are the best indicators of a person who speaks wisdom and truth. You have neither of those attributes.

The more you flail, the more material I have to demonstrate how to remain enslaved by ignorance.

You clearly don't have any comprehension of the criteria required to define slavery.

Get over your emotions and learn how to reason.

Continue flailing. I'll have enough for a book soon.

Who is flailing. I'm just talking shit at some troll for nickels.

If you had any idea what it meant to be a slave, you would feel some guilt and shame for your misuse of the word.

I'm an emotional guy. That is a reason in and of itself.

Put any of my material in a book, and my attorney will be in touch.

Good luck with any of that.

Your lack of comprehension is staggering.

Words have meanings, learn some of them.

Slave
noun

  1. a person who is the property of and wholly subject to another; a bond servant.

Nobody owns me. I am not a bond servant.
My five-year old daughter acts like she owns me, but like everything else in my life, the choice is mine to make freely.

You really shouldn't go around calling everyone slaves. It doesn't really help anyone, and it makes you look like a delusional conspiracy theorist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45