Phoney Political Apologies...

in #politics7 years ago

graphicstock-funny-young-adult-showing-his-emotions-expressively-by-his-gestures-and-mimics-studio-shot-on-white-background_HCNDABp-Zb.jpg
Recent articles about politicians "taking responsibility" strike me as just so much political show business...

For a politician to say they take responsibility and NOT face any sanctions makes their statement absolutely pointless -- except as a catharsis for those who are dumb enough to believe getting some kind of admission makes any REAL difference.

Instead of some self-serving meaningless claptrap designed to appease and fool the ignorant masses, how about something like this:

"I take responsibility and to show I take my error seriously I hereby resign, I will NEVER again seek public office and I am returning all salaries, benefits, and anything else I gained while in office. In addition, to make some small atonement for my grievous errors I am forfeiting all my bank accounts and property and will work anonymously at hard labor for the rest of my life for minimum wage serving the poor in our society. Finally, I apologize to the nation and the entire world for my complicity in war crimes and in exchange for not being prosecuted as a war criminal I hereby agree to assist without limit in the indictment, prosecution and sentencing of all other office holders and government employees who also participated in these crimes."

Now THAT would be the mark of a TRULY SINCERE person who understands what it is to have facilitated the death of hundreds of thousands of people, violated international law, damaged our nation, saddled future generations with mountains of debt, and put us all at risk by stirring up international hatred against this nation throughout the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47