DOWN VOTES AND POLITICAL CORRECTNESS ON STEEMIT

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Greetings people.
I have realized that people tend to post politically correct literature as if they were submitting it to some strict college.
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but only writing politically correct articles that usually sweetens or even omits any harsh realities only gives us one dimension to life stories and experiences. I speculate people are opting for politically correct posts because they don't want to risk offending anyone, consequently accumulating down votes that would in turn hurt their financial compensation on Steemit.
What do we want Steemit to become? a bunch of high-school journals that are fit for your teacher? or a wealth of stories and perspectives that can help a candid researcher in the future.
I personally will not be a prostitute for Steemit money, I will give you my actual perspective on matters regardless of how many down-votes I receive. I can't get enough of artificially hypersensitive cyber-enforces who opt to be offended by natural words and ideas.
For those that down-vote, I would like to thank-you in advance!

Sort:  

I think that freedom of expression is a great thing. I consider it a right.

That being said, I also believe that every right entails a responsibility.

To eschew the latter is to risk forsaking the former - and I'm fine with this.

In expressing one's views, for as long as one is not going out of one's way to deride a peer or a group or an entity (unless, within limited circumstances, such is justified - such as deriding a person for assaulting somebody) then people who feel insulted by the arguments made should stay their downvote trigger finger.

After all - the right to vote is similarly connected to the responsibility to do so judiciously - fairly.

I think that is what the current main stream social media platforms are for. Hopefully this platform stay decentralized with the content and not policed like main stream.

It is the responsibility of everyone to maturely manage their reactions to whatever they disagree with.
Philosophical freedom exits in the absence of dogma.
Spiritual freedom exists in the absence of the ego.

Congratulations @calmanalyst! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53