My Biggest Disappointment with President Trump

in #politics7 years ago

raging-bull-2.jpg

Many of you white Americans automatically assume that I voted for Hillary Clinton because I'm Asian. For those that do, I would highly recommend opening your eyes a little. People of all races vote for whoever they believe fits their political views. True, minority voting trends tend to go along racial lines, but that is not always the case.

I'm proud to be one of the growing number of exceptions. My political views are conservative, although I have voted independent in the past. I'm especially proud of the fact that I never once voted for President Obama. Indeed, I have yet to vote for a Democratic candidate for President of the U.S.

This is the party that still has the Korematsu precedent on the books -- I better have one helluva good reason to vote Democrat.

Where is "Campaign Trump?"

I'm willing to give all politicians a chance, and President Trump is no exception. I, however, have found some of his actions to be disappointing. My biggest beef, though, is his relative silence on a very important issue.

The National Rifle Association of America (NRA) was one of the first political advocacy groups to endorse then-candidate Donald Trump. The real-estate mogul gave rousing speeches to those who support the Second Amendment. He was a friend of law-abiding gun owners, and he promised to eradicate liberal policies that restrict our freedoms.

Aside from his Supreme Court pick, he has not gained substantive ground on gun rights. This worries me and should worry millions of American citizens who reside in blue states. Trump has waffled or watered-down key campaign promises.

I certainly hope he doesn't waffle on the Second Amendment.

We Need the Second Amendment!

Why the Second Amendment is so important to me and to so many others is that it represents the last line of defense against tyranny and criminality.

Progressives will argue that individual citizens should not be trusted with firearms -- that's law enforcement's job! What happens, though, when politicians overspend and destroy their municipalities' budget? The politicians would never take accountability and surrender their paychecks. Thus, vital services, such as law enforcement, take a hit.

In many large American cities, budget cuts have gotten so bad that police response time has deteriorated to unthinkable levels. You may not survive long enough in a situation which requires you to call 911.

Not only does a gun offer you more than a fighting chance against dangerous criminals, it's a way of ensuring your protection against administrative incompetence that is beyond your control.

Why should you pay with your life because some jerk-off politicians can't control their budget? You see, government bodies inherently cannot be responsible for everything. In fact, they can't even handle a modicum of obligations.

Therefore, we absolutely need a strong Second Amendment -- it's an issue that cannot be ignored for much longer!

Sort:  

Upvoted, resteemed and you sir have a new follower.

Thank you so much! :)

I grew up in an area with a large Korean population and most I've met are stern 2a supporters, definitely wouldn't assume someones political ideals because they were Asian or any other demographic. Trump jumped on the second amendment for the votes he has stated numerous times before his campaign started including in one of his books that he supported "assault weapons" bans and further background checks. I honestly expected him to fold on the supreme court decision and was pleasantly surprised with the results. If the promise of concealed carry can be fulfilled that would be a great thing, especially for someone living in a "may issue" state close and in one of the most dangerous cities in the country like myself. You aren't the only one the second amendment is a priority to!

I'm glad that you personally don't assume it, but let's not kid ourselves. No one person represents an entire race, and the reality of Republican politics is that a great many within the party assume that Asians, and minorities generally, are Democrats. This is confirmed by looks of surprise when I attend Republican conferences, and also demographic statistics.

According to a Gallup poll, Democrats have grown more racially diverse, whereas Republicans are mostly white, so the assumptions are understandable (but would need to be corrected moving forward). http://www.gallup.com/poll/160373/democrats-racially-diverse-republicans-mostly-white.aspx

As for your last sentence, I wrote in my article that "Why the Second Amendment is so important to me and to so many others is that it represents the last line of defense against tyranny and criminality." I ABSOLUTELY DID NOT infer that the 2nd Amendment is only a priority to me. Indeed, the 2nd A is a priority to everyone, whether they realize it or not; hence, my argument about police response times.

Well spoken! Upvoted, followed.

Thank you so much! :)

I'm with you man. But the world doesn't move that quick or we would already have good laws (good laws) on the books about public drinking water. Forget it, the President cant get Shit done, he can only advise and suggest. Focus on the house and Congress for lasting change. That is where the new WAR is taking place that will impact the Blue States. Blue States are the place where the liberal CANCER began and is spreading to other parts of the country.You said it yourself, theres nothing but jerk offs in there now so organize and vote them the hell out. Congress IS the current problem.

You're absolutely right about Congress. I support gun rights organizations like the NRA financially, and promote videos that bring the 2nd A in a positive light. That said, another challenge that I didn't mention here is that gun owners need to also stop being jackasses -- what I mean is that we're all in it together. But when you log on to gun forums, people probably spend more time questioning the other's virility or orientation ... we have to have a solidified effort to stop the madness.

I agree totally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57050.09
ETH 3060.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32